Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-12-2012, 04:16 PM   #16
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,245
Share |
Default

Can I use a 20 amp outlet on 15 amp circuit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
Sorry Andrew, this is just not so. A 15A circuit can ONLY have 15A receptacles on it.
See Table 210.21(B)(3)
This only applies to MORE than one receptacle.... I can legally install a 20 amp single round receptacle on a 15 amp branch circuit.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
kbsparky (11-12-2012), zappa (11-12-2012)
Old 11-23-2012, 04:14 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 48
Default

Can I use a 20 amp outlet on 15 amp circuit?


I end up just running 12-2 everywhere and split it in two. I also ended up with unsed 14-2 at every receptacle. doh
nateo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2012, 06:49 PM   #18
Field Service
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Chicago
Posts: 139
Default

Can I use a 20 amp outlet on 15 amp circuit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
[You can not put 15 amp receptacles on 20 amp circuits in Ontario either which I think is permitted in USA.]
Yes, you can do that in the US as long as receptacles is plural. Interesting that this is not the case in Canada.
diystephen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2012, 07:35 PM   #19
Member
 
JuzRick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: SC
Posts: 132
Default

Can I use a 20 amp outlet on 15 amp circuit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by andrew79 View Post
To answer the original question, forgetting the jumble of code rules that you should and must follow already stated, you can have higher rated device on any type wire as long as the overcurrent protection is sized for the wire. So 20a receptacle on 14/2 with a 15a breaker is fine. It's useless as you only have 15a available though.
I agree. And it is covered in the NEC. I'm a residential electrician.. i just love this forum for more interesting pick up knowledge to take in the field. As the books states: It all just a practice. Meaning electrical is a learning trade, whether your a residential electrician.. or a master electrician! Just means you proceeded on to taking the additional test to obtaining the masters card(thats not towards u Andrew..just saying.)

Last edited by JuzRick; 11-23-2012 at 07:37 PM.
JuzRick is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
connect breaker to outlet circuit or junction box naty0629 Electrical 2 05-06-2012 06:46 PM
120-V outlets and 240-V outlet on same double-pole circuit? Daneel Electrical 24 04-03-2012 11:22 PM
Open Ground in Non Daisy Chained Outlet Circuit RileyRR Electrical 2 05-18-2011 02:00 PM
Adding an outlet on a 240V circuit? Kjunk Electrical 6 05-31-2008 09:27 AM
Dead outlet and switches on otherwise live circuit viking1974 Electrical 4 08-23-2007 05:30 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.