Can I Splice Two Circuits Togehter Inside A Power Panel? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-23-2011, 05:18 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Question

Can I Splice two circuits togehter inside a Power Panel?


Hello,
I am working on my basement and I don't have any more room for breakers in my 30 fuse, 100A box.

I need to add 5 new circuits.

I have never tripped a breaker -- most of the existing lines are for one or two ceiling lights per room on the first and second floor.

Can I wire-nut some of the existing circuits together -- inside the power panel?

Thanks in Advance,
Tony

Advertisement

Noobie001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2011, 09:53 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Can I Splice two circuits togehter inside a Power Panel?


Yes, this is possible. If the terminals on the breakers are rated for more than one conductor (Square D commonly has this rating), you can connect 2 wires directly to one breaker. If not, then you will have to use wirenuts, and a short pigtail to the breaker.

Advertisement

__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring Size Calculations for New Service CorinthWest Electrical 7 12-07-2010 12:36 PM
power to a sub panel BigHill Electrical 7 08-03-2010 02:36 PM
100 -> 200 amp panel upgrade questions philipjcaputo Electrical 1 10-30-2009 04:35 AM
Pigtail inside panel box. Code allowed? KUIPORNG Electrical 7 08-22-2006 04:45 PM
Three electricans said it was impossible! Tom Electrical 35 04-29-2006 06:06 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts