Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-20-2012, 10:10 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 19
Share |
Default

Can I run low voltage power in same conduit as security system wire?


I searched and it seems that I can, but wanted to pose my specific situation to the experts:

I am putting a keypad/video camera entry system in front of our house. It requires a 18/4 shielded stranded wire. It also requires 12v DC power. This unit is going on a gate i'm building (along with the wall) about 10' away from the house and about 30' away from where the monitor/intercom is going in the house.

I have 2 gang boxes (one single [where the 18/4 security cable is being run to and then into the house] and one double[where the 110 is coming into from the house and then going to the driveway gate motor]) at the edge of the house that I just put there, so about 10' away from the gate, and am running 3/4" plastic conduit to the keypad. I figure it's overkill but it's only pennies more than 1/2" and i see no reason not to have it.

Anyway, here is my question: without going into any more detail, I can hardwire the transformer in the double box with the 110, run the 12v DC from there into the next box with the security and then run both together in the 3/4" conduit to the location on the gate.

I was planning on using the 18/4 shielded stranded cable for the keypad's video and intercom and 16/2 shielded stranded for the keypad power.

does anyone have thoughts if this should be ok, is going to be a problem or have alternate suggestions??? thanks so much!

jfryjfry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 11:36 AM   #2
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

Can I run low voltage power in same conduit as security system wire?


It's unlikely. I believe you could if the insulation of the low voltage wire allowed it but I do not think the insulation of your low voltage wire would. I personally would find another way to run it. Someone with more expertise in this area will no doubt chime in.

__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 11:41 AM   #3
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,857
Default

Can I run low voltage power in same conduit as security system wire?


Done all of the time with video security systems.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 11:44 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 19
Default

Can I run low voltage power in same conduit as security system wire?


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
Done all of the time with video security systems.
awesome. i thought it would be okay but good to hear it is common practice.


anything I should make sure I do to help guarantee no problem?
is shielded wire the best bet for both the power and the comm wire? should i wrap either wire in something else to help isolate them? thanks again!
jfryjfry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 11:46 AM   #5
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

Can I run low voltage power in same conduit as security system wire?


See NEC 300.3 (c). As long as the insulation of the wire is rated at the highest voltage in the conduit it is allowed.
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
THWN wire; Gray pvc Conduit; and GFCI receptacles Buzzy Electrical 29 09-26-2012 02:41 AM
14/3 Power Cord in conduit NotSoElectric Electrical 10 09-05-2011 09:40 AM
safety near house power line conduit ChrisJJ Painting 7 08-13-2010 09:44 AM
Real Basic Electrical question re: neutral wire hellothere123 Electrical 22 07-21-2009 06:07 PM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 09:41 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.