Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 05-05-2013, 09:45 PM   #1

Share |

Can I really do this on my own?

Greetings!

I am new to DIY Chatroom but have quickly come to realize its value. There are a tremendous number of experts here to glean information from. For those of you who have not seen my posts, I am in the planning phase of finishing my 1900 square foot basement. The electrical work involves:

1. 30, 110 electrical outlets
2. 14, 6 inch recessed lights
3. 3 ceiling fan/light combos
4. 2 smoke detectors
5. 1 bathroom fan w/ light
6. wiring for a 7.1 surround sound system (not really electrical I guess)
7. 2 dimmer light switches
8. 6 standard light switches

Based on a walk through with an electrical contractor, my fuse box has enough room so I will not need a sub.

Within the process of determining what I should do and what should be left to the pros, a number of friends have indicated that basic electrical installation is not beyond my reach. Is this so? I have no experience but am a quick learner. I have read and understand the electrical codes that need to be followed. In addition, I purchased a series of 27 videos that cover electrical work, plumbing, HVAC and carpentry. I have yet to begin watching it though. Simply put, electrical work intimidates me because of my healthy fear of the unknown. I would like a few subject matter experts to tell me whether this job is worth tackling or better left to professionals. If you consider the work to be DIY material, what books, videos and online educational tools would you recommend? Should I hire and electrician as a consultant?

Thanks everyone. Your feedback is appreciated!

~HT4ME

HT4Me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2013, 09:58 PM   #2

It is worth tackling if you know what you are doing. Since I do not know you or your skill level I can't say whether YOU can tackle it or not.