Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-08-2012, 10:02 AM   #1
gte
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 7
Share |
Default

Can I make this electrical setup work?


Hello,

I made a mistake and forgot to put a feed to switch 1, before I drywalled. I can always run new wiring, but I'm hoping I can avoid that if possible because the drywall is already up.

My question is, is it possible to still use the 3 conductor wire to feed power to switch 1 and then still have the 3 way functionality between switch 1 and switch 2, before feeding power to the 2 conductor wire that goes from switch 2 to the light fixture?



gte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 10:22 AM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,321
Default

Can I make this electrical setup work?


Yes, you will wire SW1 as a dead end 3w. At SW2 box splice the incoming hot to the W from the cable going to SW1. Re-identify this as a hot with black tape or magic marker. Place this on the Common terminal at SW1. Black and red are the travelers at SW1 and SW2. The black going to the fixture connects to the Common on SW2. The white from the fixture splices to the incoming white.

The above procedure is not in compliance with the 2011 NEC requirement for a neutral at the switch locations.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
gte (11-08-2012), sublime2 (11-08-2012)
Old 11-08-2012, 10:26 AM   #3
gte
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 7
Default

Can I make this electrical setup work?


Thank you Jim!

I'll try that tonight
gte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 10:55 AM   #4
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,346
Default

Can I make this electrical setup work?


Here is a drawing of what you have.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joed For This Useful Post:
gte (11-08-2012)
Old 11-08-2012, 11:23 AM   #5
gte
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 7
Default

Can I make this electrical setup work?


Thank you so much! I was just trying to draw it up myself

Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
Here is a drawing of what you have.

gte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 12:19 PM   #6
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,321
Default

Can I make this electrical setup work?


The diagram posted does not agree with the instructions I posted.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 01:14 PM   #7
gte
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 7
Default

Can I make this electrical setup work?


Hi Jim,

This is the diagram I was working on, does this reflect the instructions you posted properly?






Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
The diagram posted does not agree with the instructions I posted.

Last edited by gte; 11-08-2012 at 03:20 PM.
gte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 01:18 PM   #8
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,321
Default

Can I make this electrical setup work?


You got it. Nice diagram.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 03:34 PM   #9
gte
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 7
Default

Can I make this electrical setup work?


Thanks, good instructions make a good diagram

I have my head completely wrapped around it now, the switches are just SPDT relays .

You feed the input of the first SPDT relay (switch 1) with power and then you connect both outputs of the first SPDT relay to the outputs of the second SPDT relay (switch 2) and then connection the input of the second SPDT relay (which is actually technically an output) to the light fixture. You also wire nut the neutral from the fixture right to the wire that goes to the panel inside of the gang box, bypassing all switches.
gte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 08:38 PM   #10
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,346
Default

Can I make this electrical setup work?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
The diagram posted does not agree with the instructions I posted.
I did not read your instructions. It does agree with the poster's original line drawing with power and light going to one of the three way switches.

There are no relays involved. They are both switches.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 09:20 AM   #11
gte
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 7
Default

Can I make this electrical setup work?


Hello,

I was making an analogy with the relay comment, not a definement.

Anyway, this worked well and is functioning as of Friday. Thank you Jim.
gte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 10:38 AM   #12
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,321
Default

Can I make this electrical setup work?


You are welcome.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 11:30 AM   #13
Member
 
langless28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: MA
Posts: 166
Default

Can I make this electrical setup work?


as per the 2011 NEC, doesn't a neutral have to be at every switch location?
langless28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 11:35 AM   #14
gte
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 7
Default

Can I make this electrical setup work?


It seems as if no one is reading the whole thread



Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
The above procedure is not in compliance with the 2011 NEC requirement for a neutral at the switch locations.
Quote:
Originally Posted by langless28 View Post
as per the 2011 NEC, doesn't a neutral have to be at every switch location?

Quote:
Originally Posted by gte View Post
I have my head completely wrapped around it now, the switches are just SPDT relays .

You feed the input of the first SPDT relay (switch 1) with power and then you connect both outputs of the first SPDT relay to the outputs of the second SPDT relay (switch 2) and then connection the input of the second SPDT relay (which is actually technically an output) to the light fixture.
Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
I did not read your instructions. It does agree with the poster's original line drawing with power and light going to one of the three way switches.

There are no relays involved. They are both switches.
gte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 11:45 AM   #15
Member
 
langless28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: MA
Posts: 166
Default

Can I make this electrical setup work?


yeah i missed the neutral part, because of the ads on this site being in some posts, my eyes tend to skip stuff towards the end.

langless28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
homeowner electrical work spazpatnaude Electrical 3 01-24-2012 03:05 PM
Torque Letter? bigmacfann Electrical 14 08-11-2010 10:40 AM
ideas on how to make a fold down work table kimber Carpentry 2 10-08-2009 11:56 AM
Electrical codes from 1970's -- Old work frustrations... PirateKatz Electrical 3 03-18-2009 06:35 PM
bifold alternative or how to make bi fold work Janie Carpentry 8 03-16-2009 05:45 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.