Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-05-2011, 03:20 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Can i install a hunter wireless remote in a three way switch configuration?


Can i install a hunter wireless remote in a three way swithch configuration and use two wireless remotes programmed to the same code>

werova is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2011, 03:25 PM   #2
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,901
Rewards Points: 2,058
Default

Can i install a hunter wireless remote in a three way switch configuration?


Yes you should be able to do that, assuming you are using the three ways for on/off power to the fan and you are installing a receiver at the fan. No need for two remotes unless that's what you want.


Last edited by brric; 07-05-2011 at 03:27 PM.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2011, 03:25 PM   #3
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,319
Rewards Points: 2,300
Default

Can i install a hunter wireless remote in a three way switch configuration?


What does the manufacturer directions state about using their equipment in that configuration?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2011, 03:36 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 441
Rewards Points: 252
Default

Can i install a hunter wireless remote in a three way switch configuration?


the three way defeats the remote.you need constant power to fan/lite.why do you guy's always want to screw with things?
oleguy74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2011, 03:38 PM   #5
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,901
Rewards Points: 2,058
Default

Can i install a hunter wireless remote in a three way switch configuration?


Quote:
Originally Posted by oleguy74 View Post
the three way defeats the remote.you need constant power to fan/lite.why do you guy's always want to screw with things?
So would a single pole switch. What is your point?
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2011, 03:55 PM   #6
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,319
Rewards Points: 2,300
Default

Can i install a hunter wireless remote in a three way switch configuration?


Actually not brcc.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2011, 03:57 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 441
Rewards Points: 252
Default

Can i install a hunter wireless remote in a three way switch configuration?


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
So would a single pole switch. What is your point?
the point is with a three-way,every time you want to use fan/lite,you need to flip one of the three way switches to get power to fan/lite.and yes one single pole sw is eaiser.if you use the three-way idea,turn switches so fan/lite comes on,then buy those plastic screw on devices that prevent switches from operating.the if you want to work on fan/lite,remove the stop on one of the 3-way switches,turn power off,turn plastic locking device screwed to other plate screw so no one can turn power on.when done return locking device to stop power from being turned off so remote works.
oleguy74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2011, 03:59 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 441
Rewards Points: 252
Default

Can i install a hunter wireless remote in a three way switch configuration?


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
Actually not brcc.
if he uses only one sw,a single pole is fine.
oleguy74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2011, 04:06 PM   #9
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,901
Rewards Points: 2,058
Default

Can i install a hunter wireless remote in a three way switch configuration?


Quote:
Originally Posted by oleguy74 View Post
if he uses only one sw,a single pole is fine.
Makes no sense at all. If the circuit is on the remotes will work.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2011, 04:06 PM   #10
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,901
Rewards Points: 2,058
Default

Can i install a hunter wireless remote in a three way switch configuration?


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
Actually not brcc.
Why not? They work fine in my house.

Last edited by brric; 07-05-2011 at 04:27 PM.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to brric For This Useful Post:
SD515 (07-05-2011), secutanudu (07-11-2011)
Old 07-05-2011, 04:37 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 441
Rewards Points: 252
Default

Can i install a hunter wireless remote in a three way switch configuration?


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
Makes no sense at all. If the circuit is on the remotes will work.
if someone truns off one of the three-way switches,no power to lite/fan.there for no workie..
oleguy74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2011, 05:06 PM   #12
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,901
Rewards Points: 2,058
Default

Can i install a hunter wireless remote in a three way switch configuration?


Quote:
Originally Posted by oleguy74 View Post
if someone truns off one of the three-way switches,no power to lite/fan.there for no workie..
That should be understood. It's the same with a single switch. If you turn a switched receptacle off it wont work either.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2011, 02:15 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Can i install a hunter wireless remote in a three way switch configuration?


This installation is two single switches on either end of the room controlling the light and fan simultaniously. The remote holder mounts over the switch preventing you from using it. So if I buy two remotes and program them to the same controller( and leave the swithes along) I should be able to controll the fan and light with either remote.

Hunter remote #27144.

I am getting ready to try it .......I'll let you know the outcome>

Bob

Last edited by werova; 07-11-2011 at 07:38 PM. Reason: Remote kit is 27208.
werova is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2011, 07:40 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Can i install a hunter wireless remote in a three way switch configuration?


I tried it and it doesn't work. I use one remote to control multiple fans but I can't program two remotes to control the same fan. I would like to find a way to clone the remote control.

werova is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring in a 4-way Switch RickSene Electrical 5 04-09-2013 07:25 PM
How can I install a power switch on my compressor? sofasurfer Electrical 1 09-27-2010 03:04 AM
Wireless Switch indy Electrical 9 12-07-2009 05:10 PM
Missing Wireless Remote - Motorized Plasma TV Lift JanFan Home Theater 3 03-19-2009 08:46 AM
Thermostat w/ wireless Remote Sensor Davidb6 HVAC 2 02-10-2009 07:45 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.