Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-15-2011, 03:01 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Can I install a circuit breaker above the master breaker?


I recently moved into a new house. I need to add a circuit breaker to the breaker box, but the master breaker isn't located at the very top of the power strips. There is enough space for two more breakers above the master.

If I install a breaker above the master breaker will it work? Is there any reason an electrician may have placed the master toward the center of the power strips?

bigdog123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 03:34 AM   #2
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Can I install a circuit breaker above the master breaker?


Is this a back fed panel? Got a picture?

Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 03:49 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,252
Rewards Points: 8
Default

Can I install a circuit breaker above the master breaker?


Split bus . You are allowed 6 disconnects.Yes.
bobelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 05:16 AM   #4
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Can I install a circuit breaker above the master breaker?


Quote:
Originally Posted by bobelectric View Post
Split bus . You are allowed 6 disconnects.Yes.
Possible yes, but OPs description is too vague for to say it is a split buss.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Code05 For This Useful Post:
NJMarine (09-15-2011)
Old 09-15-2011, 01:27 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Can I install a circuit breaker above the master breaker?


Anything useful here? The link is to a photo of the breaker box. http://s652.photobucket.com/albums/u...breakerbox.jpg

Last edited by bigdog123; 09-15-2011 at 01:33 PM.
bigdog123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 03:06 PM   #6
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Can I install a circuit breaker above the master breaker?


Quote:
Originally Posted by bigdog123 View Post
Anything useful here? The link is to a photo of the breaker box. http://s652.photobucket.com/albums/u...breakerbox.jpg
Why do I think I am looking at a Zinsco panel?
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Code05 For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (09-15-2011)
Old 09-15-2011, 03:51 PM   #7
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,166
Rewards Points: 88
Default

Can I install a circuit breaker above the master breaker?


Quote:
Originally Posted by bigdog123 View Post
Anything useful here? The link is to a photo of the breaker box. http://s652.photobucket.com/albums/u...breakerbox.jpg
http://www.ismypanelsafe.com/zinsco.aspx

Hope you have your hot dogs and marshmallows ready.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 03:53 PM   #8
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Can I install a circuit breaker above the master breaker?


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
http://www.ismypanelsafe.com/zinsco.aspx

Hope you have your hot dogs and marshmallows ready.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 06:00 PM   #9
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Can I install a circuit breaker above the master breaker?


That looks like a ZINSCO combination meter/service panel box.

I'd suggest replacing the whole thing, if you can.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 06:03 PM   #10
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Can I install a circuit breaker above the master breaker?


Quote:
Originally Posted by kbsparky View Post
That looks like a ZINSCO combination meter/service panel box.

I'd suggest replacing the whole thing, if you can.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 06:45 PM   #11
Sparky
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 701
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Can I install a circuit breaker above the master breaker?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Code05 View Post
Why do I think I am looking at a Zinsco panel?

think... good one.
Techy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 11:15 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Can I install a circuit breaker above the master breaker?


Okay so I gather Zinsco Panels have a bad reputation. I'm renting and I'm not about to replace an entire breaker box. Whats the story on these? Oh, by the way, I added two breakers above the master and they both work just fine. Thanks for addressing the question.
bigdog123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2011, 12:39 AM   #13
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,550
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Can I install a circuit breaker above the master breaker?


Quote:
Originally Posted by bigdog123 View Post
Okay so I gather Zinsco Panels have a bad reputation. I'm renting and I'm not about to replace an entire breaker box. Whats the story on these? Oh, by the way, I added two breakers above the master and they both work just fine. Thanks for addressing the question.
If you're renting, you definitely shouldn't be doing electrical work. Especially with that panel. The breakers are well known for completely refusing to trip under any fault conditions, even with the wires melting and catching on fire. The breakers also develop loose connections to the bus that cause fires. I would suggest that you complain to your landlord and ask that it be replaced. It really should be.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2011, 01:59 AM   #14
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Can I install a circuit breaker above the master breaker?


Quote:
Originally Posted by bigdog123 View Post
Okay so I gather Zinsco Panels have a bad reputation. I'm renting and I'm not about to replace an entire breaker box. Whats the story on these? Oh, by the way, I added two breakers above the master and they both work just fine. Thanks for addressing the question.
I type in bold which that is a rental place you should done in first place is talk to your landlord first.

Second thing many of us Electricians are not too crazy with Zinsco or FPE one of the two is the top two worst one on resdentail side. { there is no Conneries on this one }

I did save one veido which it was on the youtubé which it did show the Zinsco breaker actually did NOT trip on 50 amp load on 20 amp breaker so again that is no conneries on this one as well.

If ya don't belive it just let me know I will post it for ya.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2011, 09:26 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Spring, TX
Posts: 121
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Can I install a circuit breaker above the master breaker?


Sounds like...I'll ask the question but if I don't like the answer....I'm doing it anyway!

George6488 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tripping breakers,neutrals,120 volts and 240 volts OH My!!! Stubbie Electrical 17 06-11-2011 06:09 AM
Wiring Size Calculations for New Service CorinthWest Electrical 7 12-07-2010 11:36 AM
Circuit Breaker Question Bob Deb Electrical 15 11-29-2010 07:34 PM
Circuit breaker question kupalino Electrical 6 12-18-2009 11:35 PM
small voltage on circuit with breaker off jasonmechler Electrical 3 08-24-2009 08:52 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.