Can I Have GFCI Outlets On Same Circut As Normal Outlets? 12/2 - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-07-2013, 07:53 AM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 164
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Can I have GFCI Outlets on same circut as normal outlets? 12/2


Quote:
Originally Posted by Philly Master View Post
NOT TRUE !!!



Section 220-3(c)(6). The NEC does not have a specific rule that says 10 receptacles on a 15 ampere circuit or 13 receptacles on a 20 ampere circuit. For 15 ampere circuits, the calculation is as follows: 120 volts x 15 amperes = 1800 VA/180 VA = 10 receptacles, and for 20 ampere circuits, 120 volts x 20 amperes = 2400 VA/180 VA = 13 receptacles.
I would suggst you get a copy of Mike Holts book on calculations it will help clear up your confusion.

Advertisement

usair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 08:27 AM   #17
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,138
Rewards Points: 502
Default

Can I have GFCI Outlets on same circut as normal outlets? 12/2


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
220.14(J)
Outlets specified in (J)(1),(2), and (3) are already included in the general lighting load of 220.12. No additional load calculations shall be required for such outlets.

As many receptacles as you would like to have on a general use circuit in residential.
as someone else said this is to calculate the SERVICE Conductors and OCP of the service .... now that we have moved to the interior of the house we must now use calculations for the individual branch circuits ...

2000 sp ft house ... @ 3 va ....6000 va lights and oultets ....


use 15 amp circuits = 4 circuits (3.33) for all the outlets and all the lights ( general purpose )... ( 1800 va / 6000 va ) REALLY ??? LMAO

so IMHO ... this still stands on the "INDIVIDUAL BRANCH CIRCUIT"

[220.14(I)]. Except as covered by 220.14(J) and 220.14(E)—dwelling occupancies and banks/office buildings, respectively—the minimum is 180VA for each single or multiple receptacle in one yoke. But if a single piece of equipment consists of a multiple receptacle comprised of four (or more) receptacles (four example, a four-gang receptacle box or strip), then the minimum is 90VA per receptacle. This means, for example, you would allow 180VA for a duplex receptacle unit but 360VA for a four-gang receptacle unit.
__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 08:28 AM   #18
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,138
Rewards Points: 502
Default

Can I have GFCI Outlets on same circut as normal outlets? 12/2


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
220.14(J)
Outlets specified in (J)(1),(2), and (3) are already included in the general lighting load of 220.12. No additional load calculations shall be required for such outlets.

As many receptacles as you would like to have on a general use circuit in residential.
Yes LOAD but LOAD of WHAT ??? ie the SERVICE NOT the BRANCH CIRCUIT ...
__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 09:08 AM   #19
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,759
Rewards Points: 1,102
Default

Can I have GFCI Outlets on same circut as normal outlets? 12/2


Quote:
Originally Posted by Philly Master View Post
NOT TRUE !!!



Section 220-3(c)(6). The NEC does not have a specific rule that says 10 receptacles on a 15 ampere circuit or 13 receptacles on a 20 ampere circuit. For 15 ampere circuits, the calculation is as follows: 120 volts x 15 amperes = 1800 VA/180 VA = 10 receptacles, and for 20 ampere circuits, 120 volts x 20 amperes = 2400 VA/180 VA = 13 receptacles.
What version NEC are you getting this from? Does not exist in the 2011 NEC.

As for the number of receptacles on a circuit, there is no limit. The only requirement is;.

One 15A general lighting circuit for every 600 sq ft of living space, or

One 20A general lighting circuit for every 800 sq ft of living space.
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to electures For This Useful Post:
jbfan (05-07-2013), Jim Port (05-07-2013), mm11 (05-07-2013)
Old 05-07-2013, 09:12 AM   #20
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,138
Rewards Points: 502
Default

Can I have GFCI Outlets on same circut as normal outlets? 12/2


Quote:
Originally Posted by electures View Post
What version NEC are you getting this from? Does not exist in the 2011 NEC.

http://www.mikeholt.com/technical.ph...0through%20240
__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 09:39 AM   #21
Remodel and New Build GC
 
MTN REMODEL LLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Colorado @ 7651'
Posts: 2,974
Rewards Points: 2,218
Default

Can I have GFCI Outlets on same circut as normal outlets? 12/2


Quote:
Originally Posted by AllanJ View Post
There are some restrictions on what branch circuits can serve what, but a circuit serving bedrooms may also serve an outide deck.

Depending on the exact wiring, optionally one ground fault interrupter unit can serve both deck receptacles.

To accomplish the latter, one of the outlet boxes must be downstream of the other in the usual daisy chain and also the circuit must not be a multiwire branch circuit typically using red and black hot wires sharing the neutral. Install the GFCI unit in the more upstream of the two outlet boxes and connect both black and white of the continuing cable to its "load" terminals instead of wire nutting pigtails to the "line" terminals.
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllanJ View Post
In order to continue GFCI protection downstream from a GFCI receptacle (load terminals) on a MWBC that also continues, you need to run a separate 2 conductor cable for the protected subcircuit.

You can have any number of separate GFCI units on the MWBC, connected via their line side terminals (subject only to the limit of total number of units or devices of all kinds).

(rarely seen) When the MWBC breaks into two (non-MWBC) subcircuits at a box, you would need a third subcircuit for continuing the GFCI protection if you also want both halves of the MWBC to continue downstream without protection.

The GFCI load side neutral and the line side neutral may not be bonded together (interconnected using any combination of wires or components). Same for the load side hot and any line side hot.

Thanks Allan..... I agree. I was just confused by what you meant in the first post.

Best Peter
MTN REMODEL LLC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 09:45 AM   #22
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,759
Rewards Points: 1,102
Default

Can I have GFCI Outlets on same circut as normal outlets? 12/2


Quote:
Originally Posted by Philly Master View Post
That is not NEC. It is from a practice exam.
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 06:47 PM   #23
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,008
Rewards Points: 2,814
Default

Can I have GFCI Outlets on same circut as normal outlets? 12/2


The answer to the original question does not require any calculation to be done.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
al_smelter (05-08-2013), MTN REMODEL LLC (05-07-2013)
Old 05-07-2013, 07:17 PM   #24
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,138
Rewards Points: 502
Default

Can I have GFCI Outlets on same circut as normal outlets? 12/2


Quote:
Originally Posted by electures View Post
That is not NEC. It is from a practice exam.

all the answers are from the NEC ....
__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 09:22 PM   #25
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,759
Rewards Points: 1,102
Default

Can I have GFCI Outlets on same circut as normal outlets? 12/2


Quote:
Originally Posted by Philly Master View Post



Section 220-3(c)(6). The NEC does not have a specific rule that says 10 receptacles on a 15 ampere circuit or 13 receptacles on a 20 ampere circuit. For 15 ampere circuits, the calculation is as follows: 120 volts x 15 amperes = 1800 VA/180 VA = 10 receptacles, and for 20 ampere circuits, 120 volts x 20 amperes = 2400 VA/180 VA = 13 receptacles.
This is not a valid NEC section. It does not exist.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Philly Master View Post
all the answers are from the NEC ....
Again, where?
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 09:55 PM   #26
Sparky
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 703
Rewards Points: 504
Default

Can I have GFCI Outlets on same circut as normal outlets? 12/2


the most current NEC that 220-3(c)(6) exists in was the 1996 edition.

(6) Sign and outline lighting ............... 1200 volt-amperes
for each required branch circuitspecified in Section 600-5(a).
Techy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 10:21 PM   #27
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,401
Rewards Points: 2,464
Default

Can I have GFCI Outlets on same circut as normal outlets? 12/2


Quote:
Originally Posted by Philly Master View Post
NOT TRUE !!!



Section 220-3(c)(6). The NEC does not have a specific rule that says 10 receptacles on a 15 ampere circuit or 13 receptacles on a 20 ampere circuit. For 15 ampere circuits, the calculation is as follows: 120 volts x 15 amperes = 1800 VA/180 VA = 10 receptacles, and for 20 ampere circuits, 120 volts x 20 amperes = 2400 VA/180 VA = 13 receptacles.
Maybe in Canada or elsewhere, but not here in the U.S.. You could have a hundred outlets, or even a thousand outlets on a branch circuit, and you are not breaking any rules.

Just that you cannot plug in a hundred devices or a thousand devices into those outlets, unless they meet the 80% rule for amperage of the circuit, when all added together.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 10:22 PM   #28
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,401
Rewards Points: 2,464
Default

Can I have GFCI Outlets on same circut as normal outlets? 12/2


Quote:
Originally Posted by electures View Post
That is not NEC. It is from a practice exam.
:slam:
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2013, 04:59 AM   #29
Member
 
jproffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chester, IL
Posts: 1,321
Rewards Points: 548
Default

Can I have GFCI Outlets on same circut as normal outlets? 12/2


Quote:
Originally Posted by Philly Master View Post
NOT TRUE !!!



Section 220-3(c)(6). The NEC does not have a specific rule that says 10 receptacles on a 15 ampere circuit or 13 receptacles on a 20 ampere circuit. For 15 ampere circuits, the calculation is as follows: 120 volts x 15 amperes = 1800 VA/180 VA = 10 receptacles, and for 20 ampere circuits, 120 volts x 20 amperes = 2400 VA/180 VA = 13 receptacles.
I didn't catch this until I saw it at least dozen times...

In this case, this code citation is absolutely true, although old lol...the NEC does NOT have a specific rule............
jproffer is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jproffer For This Useful Post:
Philly Master (05-08-2013)
Old 05-08-2013, 08:41 AM   #30
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,138
Rewards Points: 502
Default

Can I have GFCI Outlets on same circut as normal outlets? 12/2


Quote:
Originally Posted by electures View Post
This is not a valid NEC section. It does not exist.



Again, where?
Most of it is in the 2008 NEC HANDBOOK or what some refer to as the illustrated guide page 116 ...now the link I provoed was more than likely from 2005 or older... But that is where the "exhibits" come from The NEC ....

It would NOT behoove Mr. Holt or anyone else to teach stuff not covered in the NEC for test taking purposes ...

Advertisement

__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Piggy Backing Off GFCI Outlets miamicuse Electrical 20 06-05-2012 10:55 PM
Breaker Panel Replacement Plan jillers Electrical 24 01-28-2012 11:12 AM
OK to run one GFCI + 4 standard outlets from a junction box? Fulg Electrical 6 12-05-2010 12:43 AM
GFCI Outlets in Basement helpless handyman Electrical 4 04-20-2008 11:23 PM
two GFCI outlets at bath vanity Hickory Electrical 6 12-18-2005 10:31 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts