Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-06-2013, 01:46 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 53
Share |
Question

Can I have GFCI Outlets on same circut as normal outlets? 12/2


Hi everyone, I am looking a few books and they all show samples of circuits but never tell or show if you can mix outlet types.

I have a circuit running to 2 bedrooms for my power outlets. The are on 12/2 and a total of 6 outlets. I wanted to add 2 GFCI outlets for the deck outside and wanted to know if it was ok to add those outlets to this circuit since I can still add 4 more outlets?

Can't seem to find sample diagrams.
cloves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 05:48 AM   #2
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,238
Default

Can I have GFCI Outlets on same circut as normal outlets? 12/2


It is fine.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 06:45 AM   #3
JW
 
mm11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Maryland
Posts: 163
Default

Can I have GFCI Outlets on same circut as normal outlets? 12/2


Quote:
Originally Posted by cloves View Post
Hi everyone, I am looking a few books and they all show samples of circuits but never tell or show if you can mix outlet types.

I have a circuit running to 2 bedrooms for my power outlets. The are on 12/2 and a total of 6 outlets. I wanted to add 2 GFCI outlets for the deck outside and wanted to know if it was ok to add those outlets to this circuit since I can still add 4 more outlets?

Can't seem to find sample diagrams.
In residential, there's no limit to the number of receptacles on a circuit. You could have 20 duplex receptacles, or more, on the same circuit and be compliant with the NEC.
mm11 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 07:20 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,781
Default

Can I have GFCI Outlets on same circut as normal outlets? 12/2


There are some restrictions on what branch circuits can serve what, but a circuit serving bedrooms may also serve an outide deck.

Depending on the exact wiring, optionally one ground fault interrupter unit can serve both deck receptacles.

To accomplish the latter, one of the outlet boxes must be downstream of the other in the usual daisy chain and also the circuit must not be a multiwire branch circuit typically using red and black hot wires sharing the neutral. Install the GFCI unit in the more upstream of the two outlet boxes and connect both black and white of the continuing cable to its "load" terminals instead of wire nutting pigtails to the "line" terminals.
__________________
The average homeowner who lost his house in the Oklahoma tornadoes should move for good and not rebuild. Too much complexity watchdogging the contractor. Too much a chance to be defrauded.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 11:26 AM   #5
Special User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Idaho, US
Posts: 551
Default

Can I have GFCI Outlets on same circut as normal outlets? 12/2


Quote:
Originally Posted by AllanJ View Post
Install the GFCI unit in the more upstream of the two outlet boxes and connect both black and white of the continuing cable to its "load" terminals instead of wire nutting pigtails to the "line" terminals
Indeed. You can even GFCI-protect bedroom receptacles if you wish; it's not required, but it is allowed.

Since you have 12ga wire you can also mix 15A and 20A receptacles if you wish.

Note if you are in Canada I think there's a limit to the number of receptacles on a circuit... no problem in the US though.
__________________
The above post is for entertainment purposes only. Its contents may, and probably will, lead to legal liability and damage or loss of property, life, or limb. Use at your own risk.
tylernt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 10:57 PM   #6
Remodel and New Build GC
 
MTN REMODEL LLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Colorado @ 7651'
Posts: 1,627
Default

Can I have GFCI Outlets on same circut as normal outlets? 12/2


Quote:
Originally Posted by AllanJ View Post
There are some restrictions on what branch circuits can serve what, but a circuit serving bedrooms may also serve an outide deck.

Depending on the exact wiring, optionally one ground fault interrupter unit can serve both deck receptacles.

To accomplish the latter, one of the outlet boxes must be downstream of the other in the usual daisy chain and also the circuit must not be a multiwire branch circuit typically using red and black hot wires sharing the neutral. Install the GFCI unit in the more upstream of the two outlet boxes and connect both black and white of the continuing cable to its "load" terminals instead of wire nutting pigtails to the "line" terminals.
GFI's function fine on MWBC ...at least downstream of the mwbc breeak...maybe upstream... never was an issue for me as generally they break into two circuts at the first box...is there something I'm mistaken about,???? I'm not a sparky.

Thanks
MTN REMODEL LLC is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 05:09 AM   #7
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,121
Default

Can I have GFCI Outlets on same circut as normal outlets? 12/2


Quote:
Originally Posted by mm11 View Post
In residential, there's no limit to the number of receptacles on a circuit. You could have 20 duplex receptacles, or more, on the same circuit and be compliant with the NEC.

NOT TRUE !!!



Section 220-3(c)(6). The NEC does not have a specific rule that says 10 receptacles on a 15 ampere circuit or 13 receptacles on a 20 ampere circuit. For 15 ampere circuits, the calculation is as follows: 120 volts x 15 amperes = 1800 VA/180 VA = 10 receptacles, and for 20 ampere circuits, 120 volts x 20 amperes = 2400 VA/180 VA = 13 receptacles.
__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 05:19 AM   #8
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,068
Default

Can I have GFCI Outlets on same circut as normal outlets? 12/2


Article 220 deals with how to size the service.

The number of receptacle on a circuit does not apply to residential work.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 05:23 AM   #9
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,121
Default

Can I have GFCI Outlets on same circut as normal outlets? 12/2


Article 220-Branch Circuit, Feeder and Service Calculations
__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 05:24 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 127
Default

Can I have GFCI Outlets on same circut as normal outlets? 12/2


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
It is fine.

This is really the only answer that was necessary.
al_smelter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 05:26 AM   #11
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,121
Default

Can I have GFCI Outlets on same circut as normal outlets? 12/2


and since we are CALCULATING Branch circuits ...... 180va per outlet ...
__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 05:28 AM   #12
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,121
Default

Can I have GFCI Outlets on same circut as normal outlets? 12/2


Quote:
Originally Posted by mm11 View Post
In residential, there's no limit to the number of receptacles on a circuit. You could have 20 duplex receptacles, or more, on the same circuit and be compliant with the NEC.
Quote:
Originally Posted by al_smelter View Post
This is really the only answer that was necessary.

I was replying to that statement ..... In post # 7
__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 05:37 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,781
Default

Can I have GFCI Outlets on same circut as normal outlets? 12/2


Quote:
Originally Posted by MTN REMODEL LLC View Post
GFI's function fine on MWBC ...at least downstream of the mwbc breeak...maybe upstream... never was an issue for me as generally they break into two circuts at the first box...is there something I'm mistaken about,???? I'm not a sparky.

Thanks
In order to continue GFCI protection downstream from a GFCI receptacle (load terminals) on a MWBC that also continues, you need to run a separate 2 conductor cable for the protected subcircuit.

You can have any number of separate GFCI units on the MWBC, connected via their line side terminals (subject only to the limit of total number of units or devices of all kinds).

(rarely seen) When the MWBC breaks into two (non-MWBC) subcircuits at a box, you would need a third subcircuit for continuing the GFCI protection if you also want both halves of the MWBC to continue downstream without protection.

The GFCI load side neutral and the line side neutral may not be bonded together (interconnected using any combination of additional wires or components). Same for the load side hot and any line side hot.
__________________
The average homeowner who lost his house in the Oklahoma tornadoes should move for good and not rebuild. Too much complexity watchdogging the contractor. Too much a chance to be defrauded.

Last edited by AllanJ; 05-07-2013 at 09:45 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 06:35 AM   #14
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,476
Default

Can I have GFCI Outlets on same circut as normal outlets? 12/2


Quote:
Originally Posted by Philly Master View Post
and since we are CALCULATING Branch circuits ...... 180va per outlet ...
220.14(J)
Outlets specified in (J)(1),(2), and (3) are already included in the general lighting load of 220.12. No additional load calculations shall be required for such outlets.

As many receptacles as you would like to have on a general use circuit in residential.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
Jim Port (05-07-2013)
Old 05-07-2013, 06:49 AM   #15
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,513
Default

Can I have GFCI Outlets on same circut as normal outlets? 12/2


Quote:
Originally Posted by Philly Master View Post
and since we are CALCULATING Branch circuits ...... 180va per outlet ...
Only for "other outlets".
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
. All other states click
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
. Online motor calculator
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
. Online calculators
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Piggy Backing Off GFCI Outlets miamicuse Electrical 20 06-05-2012 09:55 PM
Breaker Panel Replacement Plan jillers Electrical 24 01-28-2012 10:12 AM
OK to run one GFCI + 4 standard outlets from a junction box? Fulg Electrical 6 12-04-2010 11:43 PM
GFCI Outlets in Basement helpless handyman Electrical 4 04-20-2008 10:23 PM
two GFCI outlets at bath vanity Hickory Electrical 6 12-18-2005 09:31 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.