Can I Get Away With It? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-06-2010, 06:07 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 25
Blog Entries: 1
Default

can i get away with it?


So i have posted before about how i am putting a subpanel in my garage for my welder. The garage is attached and about 50 feet from the main panel. I have already run the wiring 3awg copper wire through hard plactic conduit where it is exposed in the basement and flexible blue ent where it runs unexposed along the i-beam. In my main panel i have it hooked up to a 80amp 2pole breaker. I have not bought the subpanel yet and was wondering since most box stores sell panel kits that already come with breakers can i buy a 100amp panel and use the 100amp main breaker in the new panel as a cutoff switch for the subpanel? The breaker in the main is 80amp protecting the wiring from going over its rated ampacity. Im trying to avoid having to buy another 80amp breaker.

Advertisement

1982shawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2010, 06:20 PM   #2
I ask the impossible!
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Royal Oak, Michigan
Posts: 1,074
Rewards Points: 508
Blog Entries: 7
Default

can i get away with it?


I'm hoping somebody will correct me if I'm wrong on this, but my understanding is that for the sub-panel you could get a main lug panel which doesn't have a main breaker (or you can use a panel that can take a main breaker and use it in this manner) and you just connect your feeder wires directly to the bus bars. This was something I was figuring out in planning for a subpanel I'll be installing soon.

Advertisement

WillK is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2010, 06:26 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 25
Blog Entries: 1
Default

can i get away with it?


Will you can use a main lug for this. I want a disconnect and the sub though. My main concern is can i use a breaker in the sub larger than the one in the main?
1982shawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2010, 06:29 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 25
Blog Entries: 1
Default

can i get away with it?


By the one in the main i mean the breaker feeding the sub.
1982shawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2010, 06:31 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

can i get away with it?


Yes you can use the 100a panel with the 100a breaker
That is what I did in my pool cabana sub
You can only use a main lug in a detached structure if you have less then 6 breakers to shut everything off
....some Inspectors may require a main shut-off/breaker ahead of a panel that can have more then 6 breakers installed

OR
have a min shut off before the panel
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2010, 06:34 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 25
Blog Entries: 1
Default

can i get away with it?


Scuba can i use a 100amp breaker and box if its feed by an 80amp breaker?
1982shawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2010, 06:35 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 25
Blog Entries: 1
Default

can i get away with it?


Nothing past the 80 amp breaker in the main panel will be rated above 80 amps.
1982shawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2010, 06:40 PM   #8
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,959
Rewards Points: 2,314
Default

can i get away with it?


Quote:
Originally Posted by 1982shawn View Post
Scuba can i use a 100amp breaker and box if its feed by an 80amp breaker?
Yes!....

Advertisement

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
Scuba_Dave (12-06-2010)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts