Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-28-2013, 08:33 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 100
Share |
Default

Can I do this myself.


Putting the final touches on my basement plan to submit for permit.

This is part of my code i need to follow.

(A) All wiring systems which carry 110 volt or larger shall be installed in rigid pipe, Intermediate metallic conduit (IMC) or Electric metallic tubing
(EMT).

If i was just running Romex i would be comfortable but i have never dealt with metal conduit.

What is the learning curve and is it worth my time learning or hiring someone?

I will have about 30 outlets, 5 switches and 15 can lights to be installed.

ryanmcl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 08:37 PM   #2
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,335
Default

Can I do this myself.


Where do you live that this is required? The only place I know of with such a code is Chicago.

__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 08:46 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 100
Default

Can I do this myself.


I am just north of the city of Chicago.
ryanmcl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 08:48 PM   #4
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,335
Default

Can I do this myself.


Buy LOTS of couplings.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 09:02 PM   #5
Field Service
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Chicago
Posts: 145
Default

Can I do this myself.


Quote:
Originally Posted by ryanmcl View Post
Putting the final touches on my basement plan to submit for permit.

This is part of my code i need to follow.

(A) All wiring systems which carry 110 volt or larger shall be installed in rigid pipe, Intermediate metallic conduit (IMC) or Electric metallic tubing
(EMT).

If i was just running Romex i would be comfortable but i have never dealt with metal conduit.

What is the learning curve and is it worth my time learning or hiring someone?

I will have about 30 outlets, 5 switches and 15 can lights to be installed.
I did my basement in EMT; whether you can do it or not, can't really say. It's all about getting good with a pipe bender, or buying pre-fab bends. You'll make some mistakes, but I picked it up pretty quickly. If you need it in a hurry hire a pro; it's unbelievable how quickly they can put the stuff up. It will take you MUCH longer.
diystephen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 09:06 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 100
Default

Can I do this myself.


Did you run it through the wall studs? Also what did you cut them with? I have all the time in the world.
ryanmcl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 09:12 PM   #7
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,756
Default

Can I do this myself.


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
Buy LOTS of couplings.
And lots of pipe. Learning curve for pipe bending.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 09:16 PM   #8
Field Service
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Chicago
Posts: 145
Default

Can I do this myself.


Quote:
Originally Posted by ryanmcl View Post
Did you run it through the wall studs? Also what did you cut them with? I have all the time in the world.
Yep, ran through the studs for outlets, and across joists (drop ceiling) for lighting. I have access to a bandsaw, and found that it worked incredibly well for EMT. You can also use MC for short runs (I believe it's up to 3', but may be 6'.) MC is great for lighting (and necessary in a drop ceiling with pot lights.) I used the 3' rule when I did my lighting, but I was asked about that recently on the forum and am waiting for clarification from my electrician buddy.
diystephen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 09:19 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 100
Default

Can I do this myself.


What was the longest piece you could fit through the studs in one shot? 6ft?
ryanmcl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 09:24 PM   #10
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,135
Default

Can I do this myself.


Pipe work is an art, it takes time to get good and fast. I always tell apprentices not to worry to much about time but learn the bends and the speed will follow. Running pipe is probably the most enjoyable part of the job for me.

Look at youtube I am sure there is videos there to help you out.
darren is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 09:34 PM   #11
Field Service
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Chicago
Posts: 145
Default

Can I do this myself.


Quote:
Originally Posted by ryanmcl View Post
What was the longest piece you could fit through the studs in one shot? 6ft?
I put up studs, and ran conduit at the same time; much easier I like a lot of outlets, so they're every 8' (with a solid piece of EMT between.)
diystephen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 09:12 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 100
Default

Can I do this myself.


Quote:
Originally Posted by diystephen View Post
I put up studs, and ran conduit at the same time; much easier I like a lot of outlets, so they're every 8' (with a solid piece of EMT between.)
How big of pipe did you go with? 10ft x 1"?
ryanmcl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 12:34 AM   #13
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Can I do this myself.


Quote:
Originally Posted by ryanmcl View Post
How big of pipe did you go with? 10ft x 1"?
The size of pipe most case useally 3/4 or 1/2 inch EMT depending on the layout for most of the home runs useally 3/4 inch most case but once a while half inch home runs and the numbers of conductors in the conduit.

I can use either 6 or 8 feet stick depending on the way the stud is bored out and the layout and size of conduit.

BTW ( by the way ) Chicago do have it own unquine colour format I will try to post what the colours and what it functions it means.,

Black , Red , Bleu - power source ( useally unswitched )
White - Non GFCI or Non AFCI netural
Grey - GFCI or AFCI netural
Orange or Yellow - switched source
Brown - traveller for three/four way switches ( common colour but some case other will show up.
Purple - useally GFCI or AFCI source *

* please verify your area it may change the colour format some way so be aware if any change do show up.

Merci,
Marc

__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.