Can I Add A Main Breaker To An Old Split Bus Panel? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-08-2012, 01:28 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Can I add a main breaker to an old split bus panel?


The panel label is dated 1959, and the main breaker (fuse) is located outside the cabin on the pole next to the meter.
Attached Thumbnails
Can I add a main breaker to an old split bus panel?-saybrook-20120620-00391.jpg   Can I add a main breaker to an old split bus panel?-saybrook-20120620-00395.jpg  

Advertisement

Dang2525 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 01:48 PM   #2
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Can I add a main breaker to an old split bus panel?


What ya have there is pretty much outdated split buss panel and I do not know why someone made a jumper to the main lugs.

Really IMO that panel there are few code voliations allready show up but to order to fix that first of all I know you may not like to hear this but replace that panel with more modern panel which it will have more space in there.

Second thing is the feeder conductor why this ran indival instead in conduit or in cable format that set up useally a major no-no espcally with steel panels or tubs

If you are really good on DIY project and can understand the NEC code if you are in USA side or CEC if you in Canada and the big plus that you have outdoor main disconnect device so therefore you can run new 4 conductor cable or 4 conductor in conduit it will look better that way.

If you want do it let us know we will guide ya plus if your area allow you do this yourself ( this part check with the state or provice to see what the requirement for homeowner to replace this part )

Merci.
Marc

Advertisement

__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to frenchelectrican For This Useful Post:
Dang2525 (10-09-2012)
Old 10-08-2012, 05:27 PM   #3
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,762
Rewards Points: 1,102
Default

Can I add a main breaker to an old split bus panel?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Dang2525
The panel label is dated 1959, and the main breaker (fuse) is located outside the cabin on the pole next to the meter.
Why do you want to install a main?
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to electures For This Useful Post:
Dang2525 (10-09-2012)
Old 10-08-2012, 07:58 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Can I add a main breaker to an old split bus panel?


Thanks for the comments. Its an old cabin I just bought on the US side of Lake Erie. And as to why I would want to install a main breaker, I guess I assumed that there was supposed to be one in there...I've not seen one wired like this before. Everything in the place functions correctly so is there any issues just leaving it "as is"? Or should I bite the bullet and install a new panel? (Marc you are correct that I did not want to hear that, but that was my first thought when I opened it up.)

Last edited by Dang2525; 10-08-2012 at 08:03 PM.
Dang2525 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 12:31 AM   #5
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Can I add a main breaker to an old split bus panel?


How far this breaker box to the fuse disconnect switch as you mention ?

To get the new breaker box the cost is not that bad at all you can get a common 100 amp 20 space panel that can be under 100 Euros ( dollars to your side ) and replace the conductors from the outside main fuse to the inside panel so therefore you will have to replace with 4 conductor cable which it will have a pair of hots , netural et ground ( typically black ,red , white et green or bare in correct secquine as I menton above.

You will have to get the permit for this one I do not know which state you are in so the codes will varies a little.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to frenchelectrican For This Useful Post:
Dang2525 (10-10-2012)
Old 10-10-2012, 12:13 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Can I add a main breaker to an old split bus panel?


The box is only about 50 feet from the fused disconnect. The present conductors are underground so the new string will probably be overhead. Thanks.
Dang2525 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 12:39 PM   #7
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,055
Rewards Points: 2,908
Default

Can I add a main breaker to an old split bus panel?


Got to love how the two hots and the neutral enter the panel through 3 NM connectors.

Advertisement

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Changing Main Breaker box (or is it Main Lug box?)- pyheme Electrical 7 09-12-2012 12:29 AM
Main Neutral is Breaker Panel Question Fisher252 Electrical 39 07-20-2012 08:50 AM
Fuse panel main breaker question cjm94 Electrical 5 11-16-2011 10:16 AM
Remove Main Breaker from Subpanel fblankinship Electrical 5 10-28-2010 08:11 PM
main lug vs main breaker for sub panel diyll Electrical 1 01-17-2008 09:18 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts