Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-12-2009, 07:50 AM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Can I add a 20 amp circuit to this panel box?


Quote:
Originally Posted by MI-Roger View Post
I am surprised this is allowed.

It seems that a tub would be considered a permanent fixture and would need to be hard-wired, or pluged into an outlet adjacent to the pump, which would make the outlet inaccessible for ease of reset. Either of these installation methods would require a GFCI breaker.

As picky as code officials get about everything else, I still can't imagine that a heavy duty cord, protruding from a jacuzzi tub, could be allowed to drape across the floor/wall to plug into a GFCI outlet. Sections of the code specifically prohibit locating other types of disconnects, or reset means, or circuit protection devices in locations which are inaccessible or require tools to access. Unbolting a panel from a tub surround to unplug a motor cord from a receptacle is not the same as opening a hinged cupboard door to unplug the garbage disposal.

I suppose the inaccessible convenience plug next to the jacuzzi motor could be daisy-chained from another GFCI device in the same bath. But what is the power draw of the pump (and blower) motor(s)?

Not to hijack this thread, but I can easily imagine a situation where every code requirement pertaining to indoor swimming pools would be applied to whirlpool tubs.
My tub has removeable sides that allow easy access to the GFCI, nothing to unbolt - velcro
The tub comes with a plug, MFG instructions state to install a GFCI outlet
Modification would void the warranty
There isn't any cord running across any floor or even visible
The outlet for the pump can be a normal outlet that is off the load side of a GFCI outlet in a more accessible location
My pump pulls 7a, not sure on others - I would never pull power for something like this from the bathroom circuit
Indoor swimming pools can have the pump plugged into a GFCI outlet

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2009, 09:00 AM   #17
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Rewards Points: 500
Post

Can I add a 20 amp circuit to this panel box?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
My tub has removeable sides that allow easy access to the GFCI, nothing to unbolt - velcro
The tub comes with a plug, MFG instructions state to install a GFCI outlet
Modification would void the warranty
There isn't any cord running across any floor or even visible
The outlet for the pump can be a normal outlet that is off the load side of a GFCI outlet in a more accessible location
My pump pulls 7a, not sure on others - I would never pull power for something like this from the bathroom circuit
Indoor swimming pools can have the pump plugged into a GFCI outlet
Dave is right as usual Hot tubs have accesbility on them i still put them in the master closet
300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2009, 09:14 AM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: North Bay, Onterrible
Posts: 74
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Can I add a 20 amp circuit to this panel box?


Ditto on ours.
Salem747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2009, 10:25 AM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 133
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Can I add a 20 amp circuit to this panel box?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
My tub has removeable sides that allow easy access to the GFCI, nothing to unbolt - velcro
Velcro definitely provides easy access. I was picturing installations where a factory assembled whirlpool tub is dropped into a field constructed raised platform - often with tile on the riser.
MI-Roger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2009, 10:27 AM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: North Bay, Onterrible
Posts: 74
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Can I add a 20 amp circuit to this panel box?


Ours actually has access to the plug through the master closet and in the crawlspace between the pony all and the end of the cathedral ceiling through a little doorway.
Salem747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2009, 12:04 PM   #21
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Can I add a 20 amp circuit to this panel box?


Regarding the Jacuzzi tub...it is plugged into a GFCI outlet located next to the pump. It is the only outlet on that circuit. The outlet and pump is easily accessible from a 14"x14" metal access door installed on an adjoining wall (my bedroom).

Regarding the panel box...I will pull all of the manufacturer and model information later today and post it. I could really use all of your input. Thanks.
imlos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2009, 11:53 AM   #22
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Can I add a 20 amp circuit to this panel box?


Okay, the inside of the panel box is not real easy to read, but this is what I think I have:

Crouse Hinds JA1120Y Model H
imlos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2009, 12:07 PM   #23
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Can I add a 20 amp circuit to this panel box?


If I am understanding that model number correctly, no, you cannot add a tandem, split, or any other type of less than full size breaker.

In fact, your panel is illegal as it is. You are only allowed 20 circuits in that panel and you have 22.

You also need to label the 100 amp breaker as "service disconnect" "main breaker"

nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
100 -> 200 amp panel upgrade questions philipjcaputo Electrical 1 10-30-2009 04:35 AM
120 v circuit from 230 volt panel mills372 Electrical 3 09-07-2009 12:13 PM
Old Electric Panel/ Circuit Breaker Box dankreboot Electrical 3 12-16-2008 01:52 PM
Sub Panel SoxFan Electrical 2 12-02-2008 11:16 AM
Replace a service panel circuit breaker knockout? michigan_homeowner_2008 Electrical 6 05-22-2008 05:01 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.