Can Electrical Wire Go On The I-Beam - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-12-2011, 07:46 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 22
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Can Electrical Wire go on the I-Beam


I've been pouring over some books and the web looking for a solid answer to this. Can I run electrical wire over the I-Beam in my basement?

I need to run a wire and without going on the I-Beam I'd need to run it against the entire side of the basement, then halfway across the front of the house and then cut back to the center at the stairs of the basement to keep the wire running along the boards and not hopping over them. If I can secure it on the I-Beam I can save a bunch of extra wire and stapling.

Advertisement

thebrandnewguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2011, 08:08 PM   #2
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Can Electrical Wire go on the I-Beam


Absolutely. But you must secure it as if it was along any other building material.

Advertisement

Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2011, 08:30 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 22
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Can Electrical Wire go on the I-Beam


what do i use to secure wire to the steel beam?
thebrandnewguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2011, 08:45 PM   #4
Member
 
Johnboy555's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 59
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Can Electrical Wire go on the I-Beam


Codes are different all over the place... The best idea would be to call your local home inspector and ask. Not knowing where you're from kinda keeps us blind in that area.

By "over" do you mean on top?, or within the recess of the side of the "I" beam?

I don't see any problem running it in the recess. As long as it's held in place by the finished surface.
Johnboy555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2011, 08:59 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 22
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Can Electrical Wire go on the I-Beam


right now i have an old wire that is running along the beam stapled to the cross wood beams. I want to run this new wire better. I obviously can't use insulated staples to put it on the metal beam. So, what do I use to secure it within the recess?
thebrandnewguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2011, 09:01 PM   #6
Member
 
Johnboy555's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 59
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Can Electrical Wire go on the I-Beam


Why not use some duct tape to hold it inside the recess? Once the beam is covered it's not going anywhere...
Johnboy555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2011, 09:22 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Ontario Canada, Toronto to be exact.
Posts: 1,402
Rewards Points: 558
Default

Can Electrical Wire go on the I-Beam


I would run a plastic conduit along the inside of the beam fasten it with perforated strapping like this and feed your wire through. Use a ram set to shoot nails into the beam to hold the strapping in place.

you can get this stuff at any big box store and also rent the ram set gun.
epson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2011, 09:29 PM   #8
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,055
Rewards Points: 2,908
Default

Can Electrical Wire go on the I-Beam


I would avoid the duct tape that was suggested. It would allow the cable to fall off after the tape got some age. It also needs to be at least an 1 1/4" behind the finished surface, unless fished. /the finished material cannot hold it in place.

A home inspector would not be a person to call. If anyone you need someone from your building officials office that deal with codes.

I have used short blocks of wood jammed in between the flanges and then staple the cable to the blocking.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
Leah Frances (08-12-2011)
Old 08-12-2011, 11:16 PM   #9
Member
 
Johnboy555's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 59
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Can Electrical Wire go on the I-Beam


I meant to say "building inspector". I wouldn't call a "house inspector" to OK anything... unless I REALLY knew him!! Half of these "house inspectors haven't a clue how things should really be done. They take a couple day course and they're "certified" !!

I had assumed that the beam would have been framed with 2 by's...

Advertisement

Johnboy555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding ground in old home ChaosTheory Electrical 6 06-16-2010 05:02 PM
Crawl Space Beam and Joist Support Questions Fire4Effect Building & Construction 5 06-28-2009 02:07 PM
feeding electrical wire david_s Electrical 6 04-11-2009 06:32 PM
Cap electrical wire? oscarMadison Electrical 5 03-01-2009 10:26 PM
Standard gauge for household electrical wire tripower Electrical 2 09-22-2008 12:42 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts