Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-27-2011, 01:03 PM   #16
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,063
Share |
Default

Can this be done?


Under the 2008 or later all receptacles in a garage require GFI protection, including the garage door opener receptacle. The GFI must be readily accessible so ceiling mounted is out.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 01:07 PM   #17
Lost..
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: AL
Posts: 274
Default

Can this be done?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
Under the 2008 or later all receptacles in a garage require GFI protection, including the garage door opener receptacle. The GFI must be readily accessible so ceiling mounted is out.
The rolling door is a hand operated door.
J S Machine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 08:55 AM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 3
Default

Can this be done?


Just to stray off a bit, What software did you use to make your diagrams?

I want to document my bathroom rewiring and those diagrams would be perfect.

Thanks
pgartner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 08:58 AM   #19
Lost..
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: AL
Posts: 274
Default

Can this be done?


Quote:
Originally Posted by pgartner View Post
Just to stray off a bit, What software did you use to make your diagrams?

I want to document my bathroom rewiring and those diagrams would be perfect.

Thanks
Microsoft paint. Simple, but effective I guess
J S Machine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 10:08 AM   #20
mem
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 224
Default

Can this be done?


Quote:
Originally Posted by J S Machine View Post
I have a total of five plugs. Do they all need to be GFCI?
Run the power to the first GFCI receptacle's line terminals and connect the rest of the regular receptacles to the first one's load terminals and the whole chain will be GFCI protected.
mem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2011, 09:17 AM   #21
Lost..
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: AL
Posts: 274
Default

Can this be done?


Picked up two GFCI receptacles last night.

Another thing I have been curious about is if the ditch must be a certain distance away from the house. Is there any rule in the code that states such?

I'd like to start digging my ditch for the service line, and I don't want to have to go back and redig because it is too close to the house.
J S Machine is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.