Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-14-2012, 04:14 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 173
Share |
Default

Can coaxial cable outlet be in same box as an outlet?


Can you have a coax cable outlet in a 2-gang box with a duplex electrical outlet?

Basement is unfinished with block walls. Planning on having conduit and duplex outlets intstalled along perimeter. Wire for duplexes will obviously be run in the conduit. Was thinking about using plastic tie straps to secure coax cable along conduit and at certain points putting a coax outlet in a 2 gang box along with the duplex. would this be ok?
Attached Thumbnails
Can coaxial cable outlet be in same box as an outlet?-l40681-ea-plate-2.jpg  

Minus08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 05:00 PM   #2
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,845
Default

Can coaxial cable outlet be in same box as an outlet?


Yes, if you provide a divider in the box between the two.

brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 05:02 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

Can coaxial cable outlet be in same box as an outlet?


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
Yes, if you provide a divider in the box between the two.
Can you post a link to a suitable divider?
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 05:26 PM   #4
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,845
Default

Can coaxial cable outlet be in same box as an outlet?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoyizit View Post
Can you post a link to a suitable divider?
Depends upon the type of box and the manufacturer.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 05:51 PM   #5
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,845
Default

Can coaxial cable outlet be in same box as an outlet?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoyizit View Post
Can you post a link to a suitable divider?
http://www.tnb.com/contractor/docs/sc_indoorboxes.pdf
Page A34.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to brric For This Useful Post:
Minus08 (02-14-2012), plummen (02-14-2012)
Old 02-14-2012, 06:08 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 173
Default

Can coaxial cable outlet be in same box as an outlet?


Would you just use a NM cable clamp to secure the coax to the box?

ANd the part about using cable ties is ok?

Thanks
Minus08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 06:09 PM   #7
bbo
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Packerland !!
Posts: 1,016
Default

Can coaxial cable outlet be in same box as an outlet?


http://lmgtfy.com/?q=2+gang+box+divider

I'd think the big orange box or ld blue would have them.

or menards or whatever local place you have.
bbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 06:11 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Livermore, California
Posts: 265
Default

Can coaxial cable outlet be in same box as an outlet?


If this is a brand new box, I'd suggest getting a 2 gang mixed box. It has a fully enclosed 1 gang box for the 120/240 side and a low voltage opening for the other side.
a_lost_shadow is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to a_lost_shadow For This Useful Post:
bbo (02-14-2012)
Old 02-14-2012, 06:18 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 173
Default

Can coaxial cable outlet be in same box as an outlet?


Just found this:

Arlington's recessed STEEL combination power and low voltage TV BOX™ is the best way to mount flat screen TVs flush against a wall. It's also great for hotel and other settings where furniture and/or appliances need to be pushed close to the wall. Plugs and connectors stay inside the box, without extending past the wall. Designed for use in commercial construction where metal raceway is used,
Steel TV BOX provides power and/or low voltage in one or more of the openings. TV BOX is available in 2-, 3- and 4-gang styles. We have a box for almost any new or old work application!
  • Steel box with non-metallic paintable white or black trim plate
  • Easy to install, secure installation
  • Mounting wings on two- and threegang styles hold boxes securely against the wall in retrofit projects
  • Boxes screw-mount to stud in new construction
  • Optional covers for unused boxes
  • UL Listed
Website:
http://www.markertek.com/Parts-Acces.../TVBS505.xhtml

Youtube video:
Attached Thumbnails
Can coaxial cable outlet be in same box as an outlet?-arl-tvbs505.jpg  
Minus08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 06:21 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 173
Default

Can coaxial cable outlet be in same box as an outlet?


Quote:
Originally Posted by a_lost_shadow View Post
If this is a brand new box, I'd suggest getting a 2 gang mixed box. It has a fully enclosed 1 gang box for the 120/240 side and a low voltage opening for the other side.
are you asking me if I have a brand new box? I don't have any boxes yet. trying to determine what to use thats why i posted here.
Minus08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 07:07 PM   #11
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,750
Default

Can coaxial cable outlet be in same box as an outlet?


Are you required to use conduit?
Boxes are made like that for romex also.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 08:04 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Livermore, California
Posts: 265
Default

Can coaxial cable outlet be in same box as an outlet?


Minus,
Sorry, I was skimming and missed the part about the run being completely new and not a modification to an existing. If you just need outlets, i.e. not mounting a tv to the box, you can use a box similar to the following:

Since the coax is going in the open side you don't need to worry about getting the coax to go through the clamps or the bend radius of the coax.

As for strapping the coax to the conduit, that's not allowed by NEC 820.133(B).
a_lost_shadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 04:47 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 173
Default

Can coaxial cable outlet be in same box as an outlet?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
Are you required to use conduit?
Boxes are made like that for romex also.

Yes have to use conduit. The run is going to be horizontal in an unfinished basement along a block wall. see photos below I already added. You can see I Already added 1st box around the corner from the pamel GFCI. Eventually gonna continue to the right and install more duplex outlets and want to install 2 coax outlets

and lostshadow as you can see from my photos, I cant use a plastic new work box that attaches to studs because I do not have any studs.
Attached Thumbnails
Can coaxial cable outlet be in same box as an outlet?-100_7791.jpg   Can coaxial cable outlet be in same box as an outlet?-100_8070.jpg  
Minus08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 09:57 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

Can coaxial cable outlet be in same box as an outlet?


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
Thanks.
I was wondering whether the divider is just supposed to provide a physical barrier or to also provide shielding to prevent the 60 Hz from getting into the coax.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 04:30 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: N.C.
Posts: 418
Default

Can coaxial cable outlet be in same box as an outlet?


Even though the coax is shielded, I would never place any low or no voltage wire next to high voltage carrying wire.

I'm not saying it will or will not happen, but placing the coax next to the outlet wires can induce voltage into the coax. Could cause picture quality or sound issues.

Best to stay at least a foot from the house wiring. Also, its not advisable to parallel coax, speaker wire, data cable next to house wiring for long distances. Try to keep the low voltage wire away from the high voltage.

Earnie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pre-wired coaxial cable mapping & digital antenna set up BadHand Electrical 6 10-30-2011 09:37 PM
Wiring a GFCI Outdoor Outlet from an Inside Outlet - Parallel or Series? Pacal Electrical 28 11-13-2010 03:36 PM
10 gauge outdoor power line and security camera cable (not coaxial) vahlesm Electrical 4 05-01-2010 11:30 PM
Just for fun Andy in ATL Electrical 56 10-20-2009 09:33 AM
Will reverse polarity trip breaker?? Duane 70 Electrical 60 12-05-2008 10:18 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.