Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-30-2008, 11:32 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Can anyone I.D this 3 pole switch??


Hi just wanting to replace this worn out 3 pole light switch.Funny thing is,is that it has a black wire that "plugs"into the left top of the back of it.I have tried home centers but no luck.Anyone know what type of 3 pole this is and where I can get one??Thanks!
Any help would be great!
Matt
Attached Thumbnails
Can anyone I.D this 3 pole switch??-004.jpg  

remlu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2008, 02:03 AM   #2
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 1,000
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Can anyone I.D this 3 pole switch??


Quote:
Originally Posted by remlu View Post
Hi just wanting to replace this worn out 3 pole light switch.Funny thing is,is that it has a black wire that "plugs"into the left top of the back of it.I have tried home centers but no luck.Anyone know what type of 3 pole this is and where I can get one??Thanks!
Any help would be great!
Matt
Is this a 3 way switch? Are there 2 switches that controal one or more lights?
jamie

jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2008, 07:17 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Can anyone I.D this 3 pole switch??


Not sure, can't tell from the pic, they all look the same. Just get a levition switch or something similar.
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2008, 08:03 AM   #4
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Can anyone I.D this 3 pole switch??


This is not a 3-pole switch, but rather a 3-way switch. No wonder you couldn't find it a the home center! You had that poor guy scratchin' his head. The wire on the black screw and the wire plugged into the back left hole are meant to be wired together, since the screw and hole are electrically continuous.

You should kill the power, then take the wire from the black screw and wire nut it together with the wire from the hole, and add a short piece of wire to re-attach to your new switch on the black screw. The other two wires should land on the two brass screws of the switch, it doesn't matter in what order.
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2008, 10:45 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Can anyone I.D this 3 pole switch??


Thanks for the info, I miss stated 3 pole and 3 way.The switch controls the garage lights. 2 switches for one light.All the other 3 way switches in my house are like this one.I will try the Levition switch out.
remlu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2008, 11:23 PM   #6
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 1,000
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Can anyone I.D this 3 pole switch??


Quote:
Originally Posted by remlu View Post
Thanks for the info, I miss stated 3 pole and 3 way.The switch controls the garage lights. 2 switches for one light.All the other 3 way switches in my house are like this one.I will try the Levition switch out.
I would spend a couple extra bucks for a "premium" switch. They are a bit more expensive, but are much better quality. They used premium style of switches in my house, and even in heavy use areas, very few are really worn out after 45 years, and they all still function, just a couple are a bit sticky or do not make as good of contact as they once did.

A premium 3 way is about $3 to $4 in the pass and seymour brand. Should be about that same price in leviton also.

jamie
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2008, 05:46 AM   #7
Member
 
dSilanskas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Posts: 474
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Can anyone I.D this 3 pole switch??


Quote:
Originally Posted by remlu View Post
Hi just wanting to replace this worn out 3 pole light switch.Funny thing is,is that it has a black wire that "plugs"into the left top of the back of it.I have tried home centers but no luck.Anyone know what type of 3 pole this is and where I can get one??Thanks!
Any help would be great!
Matt

Its a P&S 3 way
dSilanskas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2008, 11:11 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Can anyone I.D this 3 pole switch??


Do you know where I can get a P&S 3 way?? Thanks
remlu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2008, 11:54 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Moyock, NC
Posts: 37
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Can anyone I.D this 3 pole switch??


Quote:
Originally Posted by remlu View Post
Do you know where I can get a P&S 3 way?? Thanks

Go to Home Depot or Lowes. They should have this in stock. Ask for a three-way switch (single pole double throw).
pbservano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2008, 06:52 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,202
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Can anyone I.D this 3 pole switch??


Quote:
Originally Posted by pbservano View Post
Go to Home Depot or Lowes. They should have this in stock. Ask for a three-way switch (single pole double throw).
You say "single pole, double throw" to any HD or Lowes employee, and you're most likely going to get that look
__________________

KE2KB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2008, 07:35 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Moyock, NC
Posts: 37
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Can anyone I.D this 3 pole switch??


Quote:
Originally Posted by pbservano View Post
Go to Home Depot or Lowes. They should have this in stock. Ask for a three-way switch (single pole double throw).
To the original poster:
Give it a try first by asking the hardware customer service, most of these folks are knowledgeable enough to know what is a three way switch. If they give you a look. Print a picture of the switch and explain the purpose of the switch. Most of the time they will know. At least you give it a try. Ensure the power or breaker is off prior to disconnecting the old switch and installing the replacement switch. If not sure of what you're doing better off calling a licensed electrician.
pbservano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2008, 08:52 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Can anyone I.D this 3 pole switch??


It's a simple 3 way switch. Any brand is tthe same. Note the COMMON wire on the old switch or you will be back asking how to wire it
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2008, 01:01 AM   #13
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 1,000
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Can anyone I.D this 3 pole switch??


Home depot basic entry level 3 way:

http://www.homedepot.com/webapp/wcs/...ctId=100356976

The higher end $4 version:

http://www.homedepot.com/webapp/wcs/...ctId=100356824

Menards carries P&S brand in the midwest, but as others have said it really doesn't matter what brand you get unless your trying to get the switches to all physically look the same...(some are wider than others, etc.)

Jamie

jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Converting a single pole switch to a 3 way Rze Electrical 7 09-13-2011 12:39 PM
Converting a single pole switch to a 3 way Rze Electrical 9 05-02-2011 10:10 AM
Wiring a single pole switch into a 220v circuit rlmorgan Electrical 38 10-15-2008 07:59 PM
Single pole with white on the switch grog Electrical 4 08-10-2008 07:56 PM
Anybody ever seen a 5A 250V single pole switch? jayp Electrical 5 08-04-2008 05:41 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.