Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-21-2010, 05:27 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 107
Share |
Default

Can 15 A light switch be used on a 20 A circuit?


I've heard that 15 amp receptacles are acceptable for 20 amp circuits. Does the same hold true for standard 2 way switches. The circuit will carry just one light, a 150 watt flood light on wall of attached garage. The circuit is 20 amp for convenience when running wires and to lessen load on the 15 amp lighting circuit. Switch reads: "15A-120vac only." Thanks for any clarification.

Mi Feller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2010, 06:28 AM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,747
Default

Can 15 A light switch be used on a 20 A circuit?


Yes!!

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2010, 06:42 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PENNSYLVANIA
Posts: 2,231
Default

Can 15 A light switch be used on a 20 A circuit?


Read the switch information one more time. 15amp 120v only.

You answered your own question. Follow the manufacturers directions you can never go wrong. OH yea you can hook it up to 20a but why?

There's a lot of things you can do to make something work but it might not be correct. buy a 20amp switch.
COLDIRON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2010, 06:47 AM   #4
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,252
Default

Can 15 A light switch be used on a 20 A circuit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
Yes!!
I agree. As long as the load passing through the switch will be 15A or less, you are fine.
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2010, 08:13 AM   #5
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,523
Default

Can 15 A light switch be used on a 20 A circuit?


That switch could safely control up to a 15 amp load. The rating is not a circuit limit.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2010, 08:26 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PENNSYLVANIA
Posts: 2,231
Default

Can 15 A light switch be used on a 20 A circuit?


This is a recording. Always follow Manufacturer's instructions.
COLDIRON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2010, 08:30 AM   #7
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,523
Default

Can 15 A light switch be used on a 20 A circuit?


The OP is switching a 150 watt light. 150W/120 = 1.25 amps. Well less than 15 amps that the switch is rated for.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2010, 08:34 AM   #8
Electrician
 
Proby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 818
Default

Can 15 A light switch be used on a 20 A circuit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by COLDIRON View Post
This is a recording. Always follow Manufacturer's instructions.
He would be.
Proby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2010, 08:35 AM   #9
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,252
Default

Can 15 A light switch be used on a 20 A circuit?


The manufacturer's instructions say nothing about breaker size.
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2010, 08:42 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Can 15 A light switch be used on a 20 A circuit?


15a switches are used all the time on 20a circuits
There is no need to buy a 20a switch unless the load you are switching is close to or greater then 15a
A 15a switch on a 20a circuit does meet code
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2010, 04:05 PM   #11
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,810
Default

Can 15 A light switch be used on a 20 A circuit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
The OP is switching a 150 watt light. 150W/120 = 1.25 amps. Well less than 15 amps that the switch is rated for.
Bingo!
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
Jim Port (07-21-2010)
Old 07-21-2010, 08:29 PM   #12
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,211
Default

Can 15 A light switch be used on a 20 A circuit?


For a light, it is probably safe given the load will never really change, but personally I would not do it. If that switch controls a receptacle, then no way.

Easiest is just change the breaker to 15 amps.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2010, 08:44 PM   #13
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,747
Default

Can 15 A light switch be used on a 20 A circuit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Red Squirrel View Post
For a light, it is probably safe given the load will never really change, but personally I would not do it. If that switch controls a receptacle, then no way.

Easiest is just change the breaker to 15 amps.
Why? Do you have 20 amp receptacles?
I doubt that you would ever plug anything in that pulled 15 amps.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2010, 08:59 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Can 15 A light switch be used on a 20 A circuit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Red Squirrel View Post
For a light, it is probably safe given the load will never really change, but personally I would not do it. If that switch controls a receptacle, then no way.

Easiest is just change the breaker to 15 amps.
I doubt I have single 20 switch in this house are any other house/Apt I have lived in
I've yet to have any light switch that would control anywhere near 1800w
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2010, 06:06 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 107
Default

Can 15 A light switch be used on a 20 A circuit?


Thank you for the assorted responses. It's good to know the 15A refers to load and not breaker size. Can buy 20 A switches but not locally. Question was in part out of curiousity. Thank you.

Mi Feller is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3-way switch circuit w/light on each end. rcraighead Electrical 6 06-01-2010 10:57 AM
fan/light switch buzzing mjlocat Electrical 4 05-23-2010 02:44 PM
3-way light with a twist Jeepsail Electrical 14 05-18-2010 01:24 AM
new light and switch problem please help rebelbull Electrical 1 10-02-2009 06:39 AM
Replacing light switch in series wired home - help! kellykate Electrical 6 04-16-2009 06:37 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.