Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-06-2013, 08:51 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 427
Share |
Default

Cables in attic


The attic of my house has itchy fiberglass insulation stacked high over the joists. What is the way to run cable in this situation? Drilling through the joists will be almost impossible unless I pull all of the insulation out. Is it proper to just run the cable over all of this till I get to the boxes way way under the insulation? I have to have a helper on the next floor actually knock on the ceiling to help me find the boxes.

crescere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2013, 09:03 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 25,560
Default

Cables in attic


Run the wires along the eave untill you can run it along side of the joist closest to the box where it can be stapled.
You do not want to run them where someone can step on them.
You can just use a cut off metal coat hanger pushed into the box from the ceiling to locate the boxes.

__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2013, 09:23 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 427
Default

Cables in attic


Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption View Post
Run the wires along the eave untill you can run it along side of the joist closest to the box where it can be stapled.
You do not want to run them where someone can step on them.
You can just use a cut off metal coat hanger pushed into the box from the ceiling to locate the boxes.

The cables I am running are more spider like in that they go from box to switch and the next box etc. I just dont see how I can only run them along the eaves.
crescere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2013, 04:08 AM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,137
Default

Cables in attic


part of this answer depends on the attic how tall and the use of the attic ..when it is all said and done ...

how tall are the ceiling joists >>> 2 x ?

is there a stair way to get up there or just a hatch ?
__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2013, 09:29 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 427
Default

Cables in attic


Quote:
Originally Posted by Philly Master View Post
part of this answer depends on the attic how tall and the use of the attic ..when it is all said and done ...

how tall are the ceiling joists >>> 2 x ?

is there a stair way to get up there or just a hatch ?
The joists look like 2 x 8. I have to use a ladder to get up there, and becuse the insulation is stacked so high nothing can be stored there.
crescere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2013, 02:16 PM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,137
Default

Cables in attic


for us in that situation .. they let us just run them on top .. less i think 26" from the opening ....

one thing you can do is put a 1/2" or 3/4" board perpendicular to the joist and run your wires on that board best you can till you go off to go down to switches, light locations or outlets ...

__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question: BNC cables through attic (studs to wall, or ceiling drywall?) eatmyturf Electrical 4 04-05-2013 10:25 PM
Attic - Replacing electrical - Positioning, how many boxes, checking understandings darlingm Electrical 12 12-04-2011 11:17 PM
Attic wiring - ceiling lighting uses 14/2 cable without ground darlingm Electrical 3 11-29-2011 09:01 AM
Can I mount a window A/C into the wall, exhausting to the attic? Greg2230 HVAC 2 06-01-2010 08:56 PM
Powered Attic Fan question spup345 Roofing/Siding 9 06-30-2008 08:10 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.