Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-18-2007, 07:38 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 107
Share |
Question

CABLE for TV in basement


Hello All!

I want to run cable into my basement which I am finishing. Luckily, the wall that I want the tv on in the basement is the same wall that the tv cable hookup is on on the first floor family room and the location is almost directly below the tv on the first floor. How do I, or what its the best way to get the cable tv supply into the basement? Do I need to have my cable company do it?

thanks in advance for any help/advice!
DIY4EVER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2007, 07:57 AM   #2
Member
 
RippySkippy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ames, Iowa
Posts: 1,233
Default

CABLE for TV in basement


Does your cable company charge for this service? If not, you might have them do it correctly.

Is the existing service in a low voltage box with plenty of space in the stud cavity? You can always split the existing connection in the wall. From the bottom, you would drill up through the sub floor, bottom plate and fish a new cable down in to the basement. Keep in mind that you may also degrade your signal.
RippySkippy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2007, 06:48 PM   #3
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,197
Default

CABLE for TV in basement


Don't put a splitter inside the wall where you can't get to it.
The best way is to run a new cable all the way back to where the cable enters the house and split it there.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2007, 07:38 PM   #4
Member
 
yummy mummy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,723
Default

CABLE for TV in basement


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
Don't put a splitter inside the wall where you can't get to it.
The best way is to run a new cable all the way back to where the cable enters the house and split it there.

That is exactly what I did with my TV cable. I ran it from where it comes in all the way to the wall that I want it to go to.
yummy mummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2007, 06:21 AM   #5
Member
 
RippySkippy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ames, Iowa
Posts: 1,233
Default

CABLE for TV in basement


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
Don't put a splitter inside the wall where you can't get to it.
The best way is to run a new cable all the way back to where the cable enters the house and split it there.
If the OP has the low voltage box, the ones with out a back in it, and chooses to split the cable in the wall, he will have access to it.

There's a lot of details left out of and since we don't know where his cable comes in, and whether he has access to the entrance point we don't know what he's working with. In my old house the cable installers ran the cable around the exterior of the house, drilling holes where ever they wanted a crappy face plate connection in the room. If that's what he's working with, I would rather have an accessible connection in the wall than yet another hole in the exterior of the house.

It all depends on the details which we don't have.
RippySkippy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2007, 06:01 PM   #6
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,197
Default

CABLE for TV in basement


Cable installer don't do quality installs. They fast installs.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Basement - need to bust up about 1 ft deeper FallenAngel Building & Construction 7 08-15-2007 09:09 AM
Sub Basement Walkout - Please Help pgs_28 Building & Construction 11 08-12-2007 09:55 PM
Coaxial Cable Question bahaisamurai Home Theater 9 08-08-2007 02:54 PM
Noob question for basement finish electrical dtmbizzle Electrical 16 07-11-2007 07:08 AM
Wet Basement being fixed (pics) harleysilo Remodeling 2 01-23-2007 08:09 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.