Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-24-2010, 10:30 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: new jersey
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Lightbulb

cable television


I have a 32' tv hooked up via a comcast cable box. I brought in a 51' hdtv and set it up the same way the smaller tv was setup. It blew the breaker.I then tried the plugging the coaxial directly to the tv bypassing the box and the coaxial sparked at contact with tv.I tried using video wires instead of coaxial and still blew the breaker.This tv worked fine at my other house.I took every thing that was plugged into that breaker off line and got the same results.I can set up the 32' still with no problems.Does the larger tv require that much more juice or does it possibly have a short in it since transporting it? It was transported in the upright posistion and was stabilized pretty good.Any insight will be appreciated.Also,the tv will power up without the coaxial connected.


Last edited by ecky1923; 01-24-2010 at 10:38 AM.
ecky1923 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 10:43 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Saskatoon Sk. Canada
Posts: 419
Rewards Points: 250
Default

cable television


I'm suspecting the T.V. Try hooking it up and plug the T.V. into a different circuit with an extention cord as a test.Have you tried plugging in the T.V. without hooking anything else to it?

daveb1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 11:17 AM   #3
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,838
Rewards Points: 2,470
Blog Entries: 4
Default

cable television


You should not be getting a spark from the cable coax. Something is not right. It could be the cable coax.
Does the TV have a two or three prong plug?
Measure between the coax shield and an electrical ground. There should be zero voltage.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 11:28 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Saskatoon Sk. Canada
Posts: 419
Rewards Points: 250
Default

cable television


Posted my first reply before reading your edit.As joed says the coax should not spark.Can you determine if the spark is coming FROM the coax or TO the coax?
daveb1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 12:17 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: new jersey
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

cable television


Quote:
Originally Posted by daveb1 View Post
Posted my first reply before reading your edit.As joed says the coax should not spark.Can you determine if the spark is coming FROM the coax or TO the coax?
spark is at tv, used video wires and plugged in and blew circuit
ecky1923 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 12:20 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: new jersey
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

cable television


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
You should not be getting a spark from the cable coax. Something is not right. It could be the cable coax.
Does the TV have a two or three prong plug?
Measure between the coax shield and an electrical ground. There should be zero voltage.
plug is a 3 prong. the same coax plugs into smaller tv and works fine.
ecky1923 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 01:04 PM   #7
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,271
Rewards Points: 2,204
Default

cable television


Bad ground at the outlet. Get an electrician, since you are looking at worst things, and definitely at this point, if you screw up the CC equipment, not only are you paying them a monthly bill, but you are looking at least a couple thousand to replace their equipment that you are renting. Not only that, if they find out that there is voltage back feeding out of your house/apt, they can disco and order you to get an electrician, and will not hook you back up until showing proof that the problem is solved.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 01:12 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,497
Rewards Points: 500
Default

cable television


It is possible that the coax cable at your old house was not "grounded" and therefore there was no problem...

And at your new house the coax is grounded (like it should be) and you are now noticing the problem.

Or could be many other things.

I suppose the thing to do is disconnect the coax, then use a voltmeter and *carefully* see where the voltage is coming from. TV or coax?

Don't touch either with your hands as it could be either. Might want to wear gloves as well.
Billy_Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 01:32 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,964
Rewards Points: 2,024
Default

cable television


Maybe the cable company's equipment has the short.

Disconnect the incoming cable from the cable box.

Disconnect the cable box from the TV but leave boht plugged in and turned on.

Measure voltae beteen the incoming cable plug shell and ground.

Measure voltage between a coax cable stud on the box and ground.

Measure voltage between a coax cable stud behind the TV and ground.

Does the cable box have a 2 or 3 prong plug?

Report the results here.
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2010, 09:09 AM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

cable television


Did you ever pin down the problem, or find a solution? I just discovered a very similar issue and will post a new thread if this one remains unresolved (rather than hijack it).

reader4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cable question tommy_vercetti Home Theater 15 09-26-2009 09:10 AM
Coaxial Cable Question bahaisamurai Home Theater 9 08-08-2007 02:54 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.