Cable And Telephone Ground - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-16-2008, 06:15 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Cable and telephone ground


Where should the ground for the cable and telephone systems go? I have heard they should have their own ground rod and and I have also heard that they should be connected to the electrical panel ground. What's the right way?

Advertisement

jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2008, 06:40 PM   #2
Floor Sweeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Central MN
Posts: 360
Rewards Points: 252
Default

Cable and telephone ground


Quote:
Originally Posted by jerryh3 View Post
Where should the ground for the cable and telephone systems go? I have heard they should have their own ground rod and and I have also heard that they should be connected to the electrical panel ground. What's the right way?
They should be connected to the grounding electrode conductor and not their own ground rod.

Advertisement

junkcollector is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2008, 07:29 PM   #3
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,423
Rewards Points: 2,508
Default

Cable and telephone ground


If you want the NEC answer, then go to http://www.nfpa.org/freecodes/free_a....asp?id=7008SB As for your question, each would be connected to the nearest grounding point, and for both, would be a Cold Water pipe, that would have a Bonding jumper over the meter if in the house. Problem with that, is that some newer homes run Plastic water pipe to the home, then from there, it is usually PEX inside, or Copper. That means having to use a Ground rod outside.
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2008, 08:05 PM   #4
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Cable and telephone ground


Quote:
Originally Posted by jerryh3 View Post
Where should the ground for the cable and telephone systems go?
You get 7 options.
Name:  800.40 (B)(1).jpg
Views: 163
Size:  55.5 KB


Quote:
Originally Posted by jerryh3 View Post

I have heard they should have their own ground rod
Not required, but IF you do you need to bond the communications ground rod with the electrical ground rod with a jumper not smaller than #6 cu.

Name:  820.100(D).jpg
Views: 606
Size:  68.4 KB
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2008, 08:21 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Cable and telephone ground


Thanks. I only have Volume 1 of Holt's Understand the NEC. I'll probably hit the underground water service coming into the house. It's about 10 feet from the outdoor ground block of the coax(and telephone NID). Is option C just a jumper that runs to the grounding bar in the service panel?

Last edited by jerryh3; 06-16-2008 at 08:24 PM.
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2008, 08:27 PM   #6
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Cable and telephone ground


Quote:
Originally Posted by jerryh3 View Post
Is option C just a jumper that runs to the grounding bar in the service panel?
Its a jumper run from the service disconnecting means, so its actually the point where you run the grounding electrode conductor to.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2008, 08:29 PM   #7
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Cable and telephone ground


Quote:
Originally Posted by jerryh3 View Post
I'll probably hit the underground water service coming into the house. It's about 10 feet from the outdoor ground block of the coax(and telephone NID).

Dont forget, within 5' of where the water enters your house, and make sure its bonded to begin with...
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2008, 08:46 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Cable and telephone ground


Quote:
Originally Posted by chris75 View Post
Its a jumper run from the service disconnecting means, so its actually the point where you run the grounding electrode conductor to.
My grounding electrode conductor runs from the cold water pipe to the ground bus bar in the main service panel.
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2008, 08:55 PM   #9
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Cable and telephone ground


Quote:
Originally Posted by jerryh3 View Post
My grounding electrode conductor runs from the cold water pipe to the ground bus bar in the main service panel.
Good, I'm sure you have at least one ground rod as well... but your fine hitting the water to bond the CATV and Phone.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2008, 08:59 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Cable and telephone ground


No, I don't think I have a supplemental rod on the main panel. I only have a rod driven at my garage connected to the sub panel.

Last edited by jerryh3; 06-16-2008 at 09:04 PM.
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2008, 09:06 PM   #11
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Cable and telephone ground


Quote:
Originally Posted by jerryh3 View Post
No, I don't think I have a supplemental rod on the main panel. I only have a rod driven at my garage connected to the sub panel.

The garage detached?
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2008, 09:08 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Cable and telephone ground


Yes. It's a four wire feed with the neutral and ground seperated.
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2008, 09:11 PM   #13
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Cable and telephone ground


Quote:
Originally Posted by jerryh3 View Post
Yes. It's a four wire feed with the neutral and ground seperated.
Your good to go...

Advertisement

chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts