Cable & Separate Ground Wire In Conduit? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-17-2011, 05:13 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 60
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Cable & separate ground wire in conduit?


Sorry to start a new thread, but my last one got a little sidetracked.

Would it be acceptable to run a separate grounding wire alongside a 6/2 SEU cable provided they are all within a single conduit? Judging by this section of the NEC, it seems like it would be acceptable, but I'm not 100% sure.




Advertisement


Last edited by shadetree; 12-17-2011 at 05:17 PM.
shadetree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 05:45 PM   #2
Member
 
jproffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chester, IL
Posts: 1,321
Rewards Points: 548
Default

Cable & separate ground wire in conduit?


Yes that should be fine as far as the ground goes.

One of the experts can verify or correct me here, but I thought I read somewhere that running grouped cable (romex, SEU, etc) in a conduit was against code because it would be "double conduit" (I guess saying that the outer covering would be one "conduit"

Advertisement

jproffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 07:44 PM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,955
Rewards Points: 2,306
Default

Cable & separate ground wire in conduit?


No. you can not run a ground wire outside of the cable, even in conduit and be compliant.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 09:19 PM   #4
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,899
Rewards Points: 2,152
Default

Cable & separate ground wire in conduit?


I have to say, regardless of legality, running a new SER cable will be MUCH less work, but only a bit less cost, than running a new conduit and pulling your old cable in it.

Price the conduit and ground wire, then price a piece of SER cable, and weigh the cost difference to the work/PIA factor difference. I'd go SER every time.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (12-18-2011), Ravenworks (04-25-2012), SD515 (12-18-2011)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Attic wiring - ceiling lighting uses 14/2 cable without ground darlingm Electrical 3 11-29-2011 10:01 AM
Ground Location and Wire Size LHB_Texas Electrical 25 05-27-2011 10:38 AM
240v conduit with different gauge wires... Biospot Electrical 7 12-14-2010 08:07 PM
Adding ground in old home ChaosTheory Electrical 6 06-16-2010 05:02 PM
Sub panel grounding sluggermike Electrical 27 11-11-2007 02:23 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts