Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-27-2012, 10:19 PM   #46
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,248
Share |
Default

cable line grounding


Here is how narrow it is

amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 10:20 PM   #47
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,248
Default

cable line grounding


Oops, forgot the photo.
Attached Thumbnails
cable line grounding-forumrunner_20120227_232032.jpg  
amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 10:23 PM   #48
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,019
Default

cable line grounding


Quote:
Originally Posted by amakarevic View Post
If I have to go 2' I might as well drill a hole in the wall and go through the basement to the main panel
That is how I would do it. In MDU's, and office buildings, the grounding is done inside the structure, not at point of entry. Cables come in through conduit or raceway, then get bonded to structure ground at the closet, or place of demarc inside the structure.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 10:35 PM   #49
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,248
Default

cable line grounding


How do I clamp connect a single wire coming into the panel? It is too skinny for a 3/8" clamp connector, which is designed for 14/2 romax cable or fatter
amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2012, 05:26 PM   #50
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,248
Question

cable line grounding


OK, so i am running the ground green wire solid NM AWG 10 from the 2nd floor through the house into the basement.

2 questions:

1. are there any issues with this wire being tied together with the phone and coaxial cables, which also need to go from the same spot in the 2nd floor into the basement? my concern is whether the surge in the ground wire can damage the other two cables despite the insulations. maybe i am just paranoid...

2. on its way through the 1st floor, this wire will go through an exposed framing area of the washer/dryer alcove. there is an old galvanized steel 1.5" pipe that is used for venting the washer drain pipe to which i can conveniently cable tie the ground and the other two cables. the question is similar to #1, are there any issues with tying a ground wire to a steel pipe (which itself is not connected to the ground) ?

thanks
amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2012, 06:24 PM   #51
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,019
Default

cable line grounding


Yes, you would have a "Floating Ground", and also cause a "Ground Loop", due to the isolated ground.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2012, 06:35 PM   #52
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,248
Default

cable line grounding


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
Yes, you would have a "Floating Ground", and also cause a "Ground Loop", due to the isolated ground.
yes to what?
amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2012, 06:37 PM   #53
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,019
Default

cable line grounding


Yes to the fact, that if you ground to the pipe that you are thinking about, that is for venting, which is not grounded.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2012, 06:42 PM   #54
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,248
Default

cable line grounding


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
Yes to the fact, that if you ground to the pipe that you are thinking about, that is for venting, which is not grounded.
i am not grounding "to the pipe" -- just **securing** the insulated solid gauge 10 ground wire so it doesn't dangle loose -- on its way to the basement to be grounded into the ground bus bar in the main panel.

so the steel pipe is just for tie to it, much like you would staple the cable to a 2x4 stud...

is this OK and is it OK that this green insulated ground wire be tied up for convenience with the phone and coax cables? my concern is that the high surge from a thunfer strike could fry the other two cables in its proximity despite the insulation on both sides.

thanks
amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2012, 06:47 PM   #55
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,019
Default

cable line grounding


That should be fine. Worst case scenario, if there ever is a lightening strike, and the pipe gets energized, it can burn the insulation on the wire, then continue onwards. I would just probably stick with it attached as best at the top & bottom on wood, or if you can pull a smurf tube or conduit, that may be the better option.

Even if you can not secure, floating in the air along that channel that you are running it in, would not be a problem, due to if there is no way anyone can mess with the wire, and no plans later to run anything else through there, I would not worry.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to gregzoll For This Useful Post:
amakarevic (05-15-2012)
Old 05-15-2012, 06:48 PM   #56
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,248
Default

cable line grounding


oh there is a lot of wood attaching both before and after the pipe attachment.

thanks
amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2012, 09:22 PM   #57
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

cable line grounding


It seems it would be nuch easier to install the cable tv wire and grounding block somewhere inside where it's easier to run a ground wire to it. Or install another one inside and leave the other one alone.

__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need to know if my grounds and neutrals are connected right dorlow Electrical 185 01-15-2012 02:54 PM
Flex gas line and electrical cable Xivion Electrical 2 08-14-2010 10:42 AM
DIY phone junction box for cable telephone service eastie Electrical 5 06-17-2009 07:45 AM
Grounding TV Cable sweaty Electrical 10 08-10-2008 04:37 PM
Grounding outlet to armored cable - fine? voltage2 Electrical 14 02-18-2008 11:03 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.