Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-19-2008, 07:26 PM   #31
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Cable issue or wiring issue?


Quote:
Originally Posted by 220/221 View Post
First, put new batteries in your meter and test it on a known live source.



Turn off ALL of your power and see if the issue goes away.

If it does not, the 120V is coming from an outside source.

If it DOES go away, turn the circuits on and off one at a time and check voltage.

If the voltage reurns on one circuit, you have begun to isolate the problem.

If the voltage returns when ANY of the breakers are turned on, you have isolated the problem to the service.
Tell me if I did this right.
I killed all the power from the breaker box (flipped all the breakers off), then tested it from house ground to the coaxi and still got 120v.
Do I need to cut the main power at the fuse box or is this test good enough?

Duchey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2008, 07:22 AM   #32
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Cable issue or wiring issue?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Duchey View Post
Tell me if I did this right.
I killed all the power from the breaker box (flipped all the breakers off), then tested it from house ground to the coaxi and still got 120v.
Do I need to cut the main power at the fuse box or is this test good enough?
Well...turning off the main is the last one to check..so sure...might as well eliminate all the breakers. Electricity loves to do weird things when things aren't wired correctly. In the meantime, sometime today I hope...I want to do some research on a situation I ran into a couple years ago. Don't know if it'll have any bearing on this, but it involved a customer having an issue, and the cause was a loose neutral in his neighbors house...the current was getting into his house via the municipal underground water pipes, which are grounded and tied together at the street. Get back to ya later.....
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2008, 07:27 AM   #33
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Cable issue or wiring issue?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Duchey View Post
Cant agree with you more, but I'm still going to kill all the power and do the test cuz I'm a curious bastard.
Ha ha, I can understand that. In that case, be careful.
__________________
John
jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2008, 07:37 AM   #34
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Cable issue or wiring issue?


Quote:
Originally Posted by SD515 View Post
Well...turning off the main is the last one to check..so sure...might as well eliminate all the breakers. Electricity loves to do weird things when things aren't wired correctly. In the meantime, sometime today I hope...I want to do some research on a situation I ran into a couple years ago. Don't know if it'll have any bearing on this, but it involved a customer having an issue, and the cause was a loose neutral in his neighbors house...the current was getting into his house via the municipal underground water pipes, which are grounded and tied together at the street. Get back to ya later.....
This problem is well documented. It involves the common practice of multiple services fed from the same transformer.

Here is a link to read about it.

http://ecmweb.com/grounding/electric...uth_grounding/
__________________
John
jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2008, 10:58 AM   #35
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Cable issue or wiring issue?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jrclen View Post
Ha ha, I can understand that. In that case, be careful.
So, do you think that since all the breakers were off and I still got 120v from house ground to coaxi that it's coming from outside? I just want to have as much info for the electrician as I can when he shows up today.
Duchey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2008, 12:08 PM   #36
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Near Philly
Posts: 2,041
Rewards Points: 1,002
Default

Cable issue or wiring issue?


If you are getting the 120v from coax to house ground with breakers off, I'd say highly likely it is the cable system somehow.
Have you checked, with all breakers off, to test one or more outlets in your apt to see if you get any voltage from the ground slot to either the white or black terminals (slots) of your outlets. If so (highly unlikely), then there would be an issue inside your house.
b
bob22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2008, 12:25 PM   #37
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 1,000
Rewards Points: 502
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

Cable issue or wiring issue?


Quote:
Originally Posted by bob22 View Post
If you are getting the 120v from coax to house ground with breakers off, I'd say highly likely it is the cable system somehow.
Have you checked, with all breakers off, to test one or more outlets in your apt to see if you get any voltage from the ground slot to either the white or black terminals (slots) of your outlets. If so (highly unlikely), then there would be an issue inside your house.
b
Just to note, you should not have power from the wide slot to the ground, but you should have power from the smaller slot to ground.
theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2008, 02:16 PM   #38
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Near Philly
Posts: 2,041
Rewards Points: 1,002
Default

Cable issue or wiring issue?


theatretch85:
If all breakers are off, I would think that there should not be any voltage reading between any of the outlet slots assuming no wiring issues or backfeeding through neutral. Where is this thinking wrong?
Thanks,
Bob22
bob22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2008, 02:30 PM   #39
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Cable issue or wiring issue?


Quote:
Originally Posted by bob22 View Post
If you are getting the 120v from coax to house ground with breakers off, I'd say highly likely it is the cable system somehow.
Have you checked, with all breakers off, to test one or more outlets in your apt to see if you get any voltage from the ground slot to either the white or black terminals (slots) of your outlets. If so (highly unlikely), then there would be an issue inside your house.
b

Honestly I don't trust myself enough to go probing wires and stuff. I'll leave that to the electrician.
Here's a better question. IF they do trace the problem to the coaxi, how can I get solid proof and how can I get the cable company to fix it? They've already been out like ten times now and everytime they deny that it's there problem. Don't they have a way of checking this stuff before they put it in?
Duchey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2008, 03:42 PM   #40
Power Gen/RS Engineer
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Oak Park, Illinois
Posts: 751
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Cable issue or wiring issue?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jrclen View Post
This problem is well documented. It involves the common practice of multiple services fed from the same transformer.

Here is a link to read about it.

http://ecmweb.com/grounding/electric...uth_grounding/
Very interesting article, John.
__________________
Well, now, there's what's right and what's right and never the twain shall meet.
BigJimmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2008, 05:54 PM   #41
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Cable issue or wiring issue?


Yes John...that was the article I thought of. Thank you for finding it.

Duchey, you may want to bookmark that article for your electrician to look at if one comes back out.

http://ecmweb.com/grounding/electric...uth_grounding/

As far as proving who's fault it is...I think that will have to be taken care of after the problem has been found.
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2008, 06:51 PM   #42
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Cable issue or wiring issue?


Quote:
Originally Posted by SD515 View Post
Yes John...that was the article I thought of. Thank you for finding it.

Duchey, you may want to bookmark that article for your electrician to look at if one comes back out.

http://ecmweb.com/grounding/electric...uth_grounding/

As far as proving who's fault it is...I think that will have to be taken care of after the problem has been found.
Bookmarked!
Well, I don't know why I didnt think about it before, but I work with some of the best engineers in the world, so I cornered one of them before I left work and told him all the symptoms and testing that's been done thus far.
After half an hour of detailed drawings on a dry erase board he told me that his conclusion would be a floating or open neutral.
So I guess I'll have the guy check that as well.

Oh, forgot to mention. This may have nothing to do with the problem, but when I touch the exposed screws on the top of my refrigerator and the steel of my kitchen sink at the same time I get a little shock. I checked it with the VM and it showed 102v.

Last edited by Duchey; 08-20-2008 at 06:56 PM.
Duchey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2008, 07:35 PM   #43
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Cable issue or wiring issue?


MAN...quit touching things!! Especially metal...

I'm going to guess your 'fridge has a 3 prong plug (all do that I know of) and you have a garbage disposal (which has a 3 pronger). It is sounding more and more like a loose/missing neutral somewhere. I wonder if you plugged an extention cord into your neighbors, and test your water meter bonding jumper (don't touch it !!) to both the ground hole and the wide (neutral slot) of the ext cord if you'ld get a reading. Just curiousity on my part.
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2008, 07:39 PM   #44
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Cable issue or wiring issue?


Duchey, you don't have to do that test on the water meter bond...I was just curious that if you did what the readings would be. That's all.
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2008, 07:51 PM   #45
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Cable issue or wiring issue?


Quote:
Originally Posted by SD515 View Post
Duchey, you don't have to do that test on the water meter bond...I was just curious that if you did what the readings would be. That's all.
Understood. I'm gonna leave this one to the pro, he should be here any second.
I'll be sure to give an update.

Duchey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring my garage with direct burial cable? Earl Smith Electrical 3 08-10-2008 06:28 PM
1930s armored cable wiring Lisa_90 Electrical 9 08-01-2008 09:24 AM
wiring Samsung MH080FXCA4A/MH052FNCA m_driver HVAC 1 07-06-2008 09:44 PM
Century Home Wiring Issue fradam1976 Electrical 14 05-07-2008 01:53 AM
Coaxial Cable Question bahaisamurai Home Theater 9 08-08-2007 02:54 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.