Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-31-2008, 04:35 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,283
Rewards Points: 1,014
Question

cable going outside for entrance flood light


does the cable going outside for an entrance flood light have to be UF ? the light is motion sensored and is affixed directly on the brick wall above the door. the cable will run straight through the brick wall and into the light receptacle, i.e. no conduit running alongside the wall. also, does the cable have to go through PVC conduit or can it just go through the hole in the brick ?

amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2008, 05:37 PM   #2
Member
 
dSilanskas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Posts: 474
Rewards Points: 250
Default

cable going outside for entrance flood light


Quote:
Originally Posted by amakarevic View Post
does the cable going outside for an entrance flood light have to be UF ? the light is motion sensored and is affixed directly on the brick wall above the door. the cable will run straight through the brick wall and into the light receptacle, i.e. no conduit running alongside the wall. also, does the cable have to go through PVC conduit or can it just go through the hole in the brick ?

If your going right through the brick to the other side into a box. Yes you have to protect the romex by some sort of sleeve. PVC is not a bad idea or carflex. It does not have to be UF Romex unless your running the wire along the outside of the house.

dSilanskas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2008, 06:56 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

cable going outside for entrance flood light


HUH?


Romex is run thru brick all the time to every outside light in every brick house I've ever seen.

Inside the brick = inside the structure.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2008, 12:06 AM   #4
Member
 
dSilanskas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Posts: 474
Rewards Points: 250
Default

cable going outside for entrance flood light


Quote:
Originally Posted by 220/221 View Post
HUH?


Romex is run thru brick all the time to every outside light in every brick house I've ever seen.

Inside the brick = inside the structure.

Yes it is so whats your question?
dSilanskas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2008, 11:06 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,508
Rewards Points: 2,004
Default

cable going outside for entrance flood light


Quote:
Originally Posted by 220/221 View Post
HUH?


Romex is run thru brick all the time to every outside light in every brick house I've ever seen.

Inside the brick = inside the structure.
Totally agree. It's done all the time and is not a code violation. Of course if you feel better with a sleeve. Have at it.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2008, 03:12 PM   #6
Member
 
dSilanskas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Posts: 474
Rewards Points: 250
Default

cable going outside for entrance flood light


Quote:
Originally Posted by 220/221 View Post
HUH?


Romex is run thru brick all the time to every outside light in every brick house I've ever seen.

Inside the brick = inside the structure.
If you re read what I wrote I said that you only need to use UF romex if you are going along the outside of a building
dSilanskas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2008, 04:04 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

cable going outside for entrance flood light


Quote:
If your going right through the brick to the other side into a box. Yes you have to protect the romex by some sort of sleeve.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2008, 04:30 PM   #8
Member
 
dSilanskas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Posts: 474
Rewards Points: 250
Default

cable going outside for entrance flood light


220/221 if your going to run romex through brick or stone why woudn't you protect it with pvc or carflex? Silly silly monkey
dSilanskas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2008, 04:34 PM   #9
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

cable going outside for entrance flood light


Quote:
Originally Posted by dSilanskas View Post
220/221 if your going to run romex through brick or stone why woudn't you protect it with pvc or carflex? Silly silly monkey
Because you dont need to. Silly silly monkey!
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2008, 04:43 PM   #10
Member
 
dSilanskas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Posts: 474
Rewards Points: 250
Default

cable going outside for entrance flood light


Sure you dont have too but why not? For better protecton? Well unless that is the way you guys like to do things The code is bare minimal why not go above the code and make it even more safe
dSilanskas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2008, 05:17 PM   #11
electrician
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 326
Rewards Points: 250
Default

cable going outside for entrance flood light


Quote:
Originally Posted by dSilanskas View Post
Sure you dont have too but why not? For better protecton? Well unless that is the way you guys like to do things The code is bare minimal why not go above the code and make it even more safe

Why not? Because it's idiotic and a waste of time and your customers money, that's why.
Silk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2008, 06:10 PM   #12
Member
 
dSilanskas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Posts: 474
Rewards Points: 250
Default

cable going outside for entrance flood light


Quote:
Originally Posted by Silk View Post
Why not? Because it's idiotic and a waste of time and your customers money, that's why.
Haha well perhaps your idiotic to think that it really takes that much longer to stick a pipe through a wall So its at the most 10" of 1/2 pipe or whatever you use and about two minutes But oh yes that is a lot of time and money
dSilanskas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2008, 07:31 PM   #13
electrician
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 326
Rewards Points: 250
Default

cable going outside for entrance flood light


Quote:
Originally Posted by dSilanskas View Post
Haha well perhaps your idiotic

Well let me think about that................. No, it's still you.
Silk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2008, 07:50 PM   #14
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

cable going outside for entrance flood light


Quote:
Originally Posted by dSilanskas View Post
Haha well perhaps your idiotic to think that it really takes that much longer to stick a pipe through a wall So its at the most 10" of 1/2 pipe or whatever you use and about two minutes But oh yes that is a lot of time and money
Well usually, in a new construction situation, the wire is stubbed out with a box attached. Then the brick mason will brick around it, and the wire is never in contact with the brick. In a remodel or old work setup, I'd chisel a brick out and install a masonry box, and the wire still never touches the brick. It would be a waste of time to install a pipe, only to turn around and remove it when you take the brick out anyway.
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2008, 08:05 PM   #15
Member
 
dSilanskas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Posts: 474
Rewards Points: 250
Default

cable going outside for entrance flood light


Quote:
Originally Posted by Silk View Post
Well let me think about that................. No, it's still you.
haha well to each his own you do things your way and i will do things the better way

dSilanskas is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question with wiring up a flood light. SuperAkuma Electrical 6 09-20-2008 10:58 AM
Motion Sensor to Flood Light Unit TTran Electrical 3 05-31-2008 09:50 AM
Outside conduit to flood light moneymgmt Electrical 5 02-06-2008 08:08 AM
Electric receptacle in lamp post and flood light not working th31 Electrical 7 12-13-2007 07:46 AM
Coaxial Cable Question bahaisamurai Home Theater 9 08-08-2007 02:54 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.