Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-31-2013, 12:49 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 36
Share |
Default

Cable Connector Clamp for 2 wires?


Hi -

I recently had some disappointing work done by an electrician who is not responding to my phone calls. I need to move forward on my project, and I think that if I am careful, read a lot, and enlist help, I can do a better job myself.

The electrician installed an outdoor sub panel that has 2 remaining knockouts in the back. I'd like to use these knockouts to wire my addition. One of the knockouts is quite big. It is my understanding that you are only allowed to run one NM wire through a connector clamp (one of these):


I have also read that some connector clamps are approved for 2 NM wires. Since I only have 2 knockouts, if I could find this type of clamp, I could run 4 circuits in my addition.

I've scoured the internet, and have been unable to find anything that says it is approved for 2. In my main panel (which was installed in 1980, and presumably approved), I have 3 Romex cables in a 3/4" clamp. I'm not sure how this came to be, and if it is legal.

Does anyone know where I could find such a clamp that specifically states it is approved for 2 NM cables? Also, do I need to use anything special - the panel is a surface mount, but there is a small gap behind it where I can see light coming in from outside. I think it would be possible for water to get in there. Is there such a thing as a gasket that seals between a panel and the inside of the wall?

Thanks!

fulmar2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 01:02 AM   #2
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Cable Connector Clamp for 2 wires?


Note: my reply in bleu.

Quote:
Originally Posted by fulmar2 View Post
Hi -

I recently had some disappointing work done by an electrician who is not responding to my phone calls. I need to move forward on my project, and I think that if I am careful, read a lot, and enlist help, I can do a better job myself.

Did that electrician pull the permit or not ? and was it complety inspected by inspector or not ? if have permit and the inspector did not come yet my answer is just wait until inspector get done otherwise there may other issue arise.

The electrician installed an outdoor sub panel that has 2 remaining knockouts in the back. I'd like to use these knockouts to wire my addition. One of the knockouts is quite big. It is my understanding that you are only allowed to run one NM wire through a connector clamp (one of these):

What kind of outdoor subpanel is that used for ?

Just be aware some local codes may only allow one NM per connector even thru I know they are listed for 2 ( if the manufacter do have the listing of that one )



I have also read that some connector clamps are approved for 2 NM wires. Since I only have 2 knockouts, if I could find this type of clamp, I could run 4 circuits in my addition.

I know few NM connectors are listed for two cables but again it depending on the manufacter and the codes of that area it being used.

I've scoured the internet, and have been unable to find anything that says it is approved for 2. In my main panel (which was installed in 1980, and presumably approved), I have 3 Romex cables in a 3/4" clamp. I'm not sure how this came to be, and if it is legal.

3 is kinda tight there again it may be ok in very old days but per modern codes and inspectors alot of them will say 2 is the top but if that was installed orngally most case leave it alone that can be under grandfather clause unless inspector say something different.

Does anyone know where I could find such a clamp that specifically states it is approved for 2 NM cables? Also, do I need to use anything special - the panel is a surface mount, but there is a small gap behind it where I can see light coming in from outside. I think it would be possible for water to get in there. Is there such a thing as a gasket that seals between a panel and the inside of the wall?

Thanks!
There are plenty manufacter that it can post the infomation on them.

Now for small gap this what I useally do all the time is run silicone chalk on the top and side only do not do the bottom for good reason ( you will need to keep it open in bottom for moisture drainage )

I know there are other guys will chime in with their options as well so hang on a bit they will reply to you soon.

Merci,
Marc

__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to frenchelectrican For This Useful Post:
fulmar2 (01-31-2013)
Old 01-31-2013, 01:17 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 36
Default

Cable Connector Clamp for 2 wires?


Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchelectrican View Post
Did that electrician pull the permit or not ? and was it complety inspected by inspector or not ? if have permit and the inspector did not come yet my answer is just wait until inspector get done otherwise there may other issue arise.
Thank you for your helpful reply! I pulled the permit as "owner builder." I hired the electrician because he was licensed and I thought he could help me pass my inspection. I emailed my inspector with pictures of items I was worried about, and sure enough, they were all problems. Unfortunately, I paid the electrician, and he stopped answering his phone after I left a message about the problems. Oops; I guess that I have to accept this as a loss.


Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchelectrican View Post
What kind of outdoor subpanel is that used for ?
Here is a picture of what I am dealing with. From another question, I think that the LB inside the wall will be OK if I just put an access panel over it. You can see that there are only 2 knockouts remaining in the back of the panel. Ideally, I'd run 5 circuits into my addition, but I think that I can make it work with 4. Having just 2 knockouts in the back is pretty limiting; I suppose I could just toss the panel and get one that works better for my needs.



Before I undo everything that he did, though, I wanted to see if I could get some help to move forward with what I've got.

Thanks again so much!
fulmar2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 05:53 AM   #4
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,778
Default

Cable Connector Clamp for 2 wires?


YES, those NM connectors can accept two cables, some even three. I have never heard of any amendments limiting them to one, but anything's possible.
Check Arlinton's web site.

Why are you limited to those two unused KO's? Aren't there more in the back of the panel? I don't see any other holes around that LB. Or is that LB not coming into the center of the panel.

What was so bad about this instal? Right off the bat, that LB is pretty lame. There HAD to be a better way.
Was the guy a real electrician, or some kind of handyman or general contractor?
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 06:43 AM   #5
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,385
Default

Cable Connector Clamp for 2 wires?


Since you need an access panel for the LB you could mount a 4x4 box with a close nipple to the panel. Bring the cables into the box.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
fulmar2 (01-31-2013)
Old 01-31-2013, 08:06 AM   #6
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

Cable Connector Clamp for 2 wires?


I remember your first post with the pictures of the hack work. I know if I had paid a "professional" to do something, and he did work like this, I'd use any means possible to eff up his livelihood. Give the inspector this contractor's name. They can revoke any license he has in the community. If he doesn't come back to fix it, all his licensing can be revoked.

I've seen it numerous times here. Why do people just roll over when they are taken for a ride by someone that says they are a contractor?

I will add that NO licensed ELECTRICIAN would install anything close to what you show in your pictures.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 02:48 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 36
Default

Cable Connector Clamp for 2 wires?


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
I will add that NO licensed ELECTRICIAN would install anything close to what you show in your pictures.
Thanks, k_buz. I did look up his license number online, and it is valid. I do plan to file a complaint if he refuses to fix it / continues to ignore my phone calls. Thanks.

fulmar2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Armored Bx cable in switching out ceiling fan Jmorale6 Electrical 1 01-05-2013 12:32 AM
Aerial Cable to Garage & Adding Sub Panel CDW59 Electrical 5 12-09-2011 06:43 AM
Electrician best practice questions mudworm Electrical 32 11-12-2011 01:59 PM
Re-route dryer electric cable Stu27 Electrical 10 09-06-2010 08:21 PM
Satellite vs. cable coaxial types? Badfish740 Home Theater 6 02-17-2009 11:00 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.