Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-16-2014, 06:35 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Md/Pa
Posts: 1,060
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Cabinet screws showing 30 Volts AC


High impedance and/or inexpensive meters can pick up all sorts of voltages that are of no issue. You never mentioned what happened to your son when he was installing the screw. Shock? Breaker tripped?

zappa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2014, 06:42 PM   #17
jkk
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 96
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Cabinet screws showing 30 Volts AC


Quote:
Originally Posted by zappa
High impedance and/or inexpensive meters can pick up all sorts of voltages that are of no issue. You never mentioned what happened to your son when he was installing the screw. Shock? Breaker tripped?
Slight tingle. Thankfully.
jkk is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jkk For This Useful Post:
zappa (06-16-2014)
Old 06-16-2014, 06:49 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Md/Pa
Posts: 1,060
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Cabinet screws showing 30 Volts AC


Quote:
Originally Posted by jkk View Post
Slight tingle. Thankfully.
Well that's good to hear. Did you happen to measure between the screw and ground before removing it?
zappa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2014, 07:39 PM   #19
jkk
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 96
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Cabinet screws showing 30 Volts AC


Quote:
Originally Posted by zappa

Well that's good to hear. Did you happen to measure between the screw and ground before removing it?
No, he removed it before calling me.
jkk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2014, 08:00 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Md/Pa
Posts: 1,060
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Cabinet screws showing 30 Volts AC


Quote:
Originally Posted by jkk View Post
No, he removed it before calling me.
I wouldn't be comfortable knowing that a damaged cable might be inside the wall.
zappa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2014, 08:46 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 693
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Cabinet screws showing 30 Volts AC


Quote:
Originally Posted by zappa View Post
I wouldn't be comfortable knowing that a damaged cable might be inside the wall.
Same here.

Just wondering, you mentioned sheetrock?
Not knowing, but is there any possibility of the sheetrock being over metal lath and plaster, or just the metal lath?
Just throwing it out there.
ritelec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2014, 12:42 AM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,497
Rewards Points: 6
Default

Cabinet screws showing 30 Volts AC


There are several reasons why you could measure a voltage on these screws
But we are only guessing as he has removed. The screws
But if there is a chance of now damaged wires being in the wall
Then it would be wise to open up the wall and check it out !
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2014, 01:29 AM   #23
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,249
Rewards Points: 18
Default

Cabinet screws showing 30 Volts AC


I was about to suggest that it was the OP's charismatic aurora causing the voltage....

To be honest...most people wouldn't admit to making a mistake....it's a good man who does.

With that said....any time I get a voltage like that....I touch it with my fingers. It's low enough to not do any damage (to me) if is in fact a real voltage. 99.9999% of the time, touching it injects enough resistance to ground to make it go away.

And there are times where you just can't beat a good ol' Simpson 260 VOM
__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2014, 06:42 AM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 219
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Cabinet screws showing 30 Volts AC


Quote:
Originally Posted by ddawg16 View Post
And there are times where you just can't beat a good ol' Simpson 260 VOM
Yeah, but who wants to lug around that big azz analog meter?
petey_c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2014, 08:08 AM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Md/Pa
Posts: 1,060
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Cabinet screws showing 30 Volts AC


A low impedance feature on a digital is handy.
zappa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2014, 08:40 AM   #26
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,249
Rewards Points: 18
Default

Cabinet screws showing 30 Volts AC


Quote:
Originally Posted by petey_c
Yeah, but who wants to lug around that big azz analog meter?
But it's a classic....and shows things hard to see with a digital...and doesn't need batteries
__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2014, 09:24 AM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 219
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Cabinet screws showing 30 Volts AC


I'm just a little biased. I used to have to repair 260's in the Navy. I liked them a lot. Test equipment has come a long way since the 80's. Spectrum anaylers that would give you a hernia then, can be lifted with ease now, but I digress...

petey_c is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Loose stainless steel deck screws drtbk4ever Building & Construction 17 06-19-2012 09:26 AM
Need help! Cabinet install gone slightly wrong eemichael83 Carpentry 14 10-26-2010 03:46 PM
Metal roof energized (showing 29 volts to ground) bluefitness Electrical 5 05-07-2010 10:33 PM
Does Home AC ever read 0 volts? step.gary Electrical 3 07-01-2006 03:57 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.