Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-22-2011, 06:12 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 6
Share |
Default

A/C trips breaker


my window a/c unit will occasionally trip the breaker..not sure the btu's but its def close to the biggest for a 110 line. nothing else is being used on the line and its a 12g wire on a 20amp breaker. not a 220line...ive noticed that it tends to trip the breaker during what might be a more high usage time for electricity in the neighborhood if that means anything.. i assume its a bad idea to replace the 20amp breaker with a 30 for the time being? also it tends to trip the breaker when on the low setting quicker..i figured that would use less power than the others..

bize is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2011, 06:38 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: MA
Posts: 713
Default

A/C trips breaker


Putting a 30 amp breaker in is a bad idea.

Is there anything else on the circuit or just this a/c?

AandPDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2011, 07:24 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 6
Default

A/C trips breaker


hey there are receptacles on the circuit however nothing is plugged into them except the a.c.. which is plugged in the last set of receptacles in the chain i believe
bize is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2011, 07:36 PM   #4
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

A/C trips breaker


You could try replacing the breaker with a new 20 amp breaker. Breakers can weaken over time when a heavy load is on that circuit. How old is the panel / breaker?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2011, 07:46 PM   #5
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Default

A/C trips breaker


and how old is the AC?
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 09:06 AM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,694
Default

A/C trips breaker


Check all receptacles to make sure all connections are tight.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 10:06 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 6
Default

A/C trips breaker


the panel is old, im not sure how old exactly the breakers are because they were replaced about a year ago but with used ones.. new lines were ran to the box at that time.

the a.c. unit im gonna take a guess and say approx 12 y/o maybe a little more..

the connections at the receptacles should be good, they were just installed last year and give no other problems when used other than this a/c problem.

i ran the a/c last night for 3 hours on high with no trouble but like i said during the day or other times of possible high draw throughout the neighborhood it trips even on low after random periods of time starting with as little as ten minutes.
bize is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 10:06 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 14
Default

A/C trips breaker


Clean the unit the dirtier it is the higher the amp draw
matt1208 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 10:09 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,794
Default

A/C trips breaker


Has this AC always occationally tripped the breaker - or has it been ok in the past and this is a new behavior?
__________________
____________
Vince
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 12:43 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 6
Default

A/C trips breaker


i keep the filter clean but have never cleaned the unit beyond that.

this is the second year of the unit. last year i believe it happened once or twice but not like it has this week during out current "heat wave"
bize is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 01:08 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 6
Default

A/C trips breaker


i have a killawatt meter i can use to monitor the unit if that helps in anyway
bize is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 01:14 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: MA
Posts: 713
Default

A/C trips breaker


How many watts is it drawing on high and low?

What is the voltage?
AandPDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 01:19 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 14
Default

A/C trips breaker


I would try cleaning the condenser and see what happens.
matt1208 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 01:42 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 6
Default

A/C trips breaker


im not home i will clean the condenser and also report back with the watts and the voltage draw when i return home.

bize is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring Size Calculations for New Service CorinthWest Electrical 7 12-07-2010 11:36 AM
Update: Power on several circuits comes and goes all at once, never trips breaker Michael H Electrical 9 07-03-2009 10:12 PM
Power on several circuits comes and goes all at once, never trips breaker Michael H Electrical 22 06-29-2009 08:22 AM
20 Amp Breaker only trips once in a while panhandlion Electrical 14 11-26-2007 08:36 PM
Main Breaker Trips Repeatedly kkf Electrical 7 06-18-2007 04:31 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.