Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-07-2007, 06:14 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

c-h breaker failed open


It's one half of a C-H double 20 A (two circuits in one breaker position) and it failed in such a way that there's no way to switch it off. Any idea what could cause this? I've seen lots of breakers fail closed (ie no current) but never seen one fail open like this.

Possible hint: The circuit (AWG 12) had an outlet added recently for a one-room A-C. Plate says 10 A. Three other outlets on the circuit with floor fan, radio, clock, computer so with A-C going the circuit is getting plenty of work.

Thanks in advance,

Phil S.

whybminor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2007, 11:14 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 95
Rewards Points: 0
Default

c-h breaker failed open


whybminor,

Quote:
and it failed in such a way that there's no way to switch it off
This condition is failed closed not failed open.

This is a very rare failure, replace the circuit breaker immediately.


Quote:
one-room A-C. Plate says 10 A. Three other outlets on the circuit with floor fan, radio, clock, computer so with A-C going the circuit is getting plenty of work.
The continuous operating budget for your 20A circuit is 16A. Your floor fan, radio, clock, and computer most likely do not exceed the remaining 6A.

While it is ideal for the AC to have a dedicated circuit, your existing circuit is completely safe with a new breaker and checking the condition of the wiring (tight connections, outlets that tightly grab plugs.)

If your panel is C-H, be sure to use C-H breakers.

...Christopher

Christopher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2007, 10:07 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 0
Default

c-h breaker failed open


Christopher -- Thanks. I don't know why I said open, closed makes much more sense, They've bought a new one and should have it in by now.

What's really wierd is that even the bad one (upper) will open (shut off current) if you open BOTH switches and the bottom operates correctly regardless, but if you open only the upper one, current still flows through that circuit. Gotta be a mechanical problem inside the breaker. As I said, never seen this before. I was astounded!

Thanks again. -- Phil
whybminor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Circuit breaker panel - Advice needed justtired Electrical 15 12-13-2007 05:55 AM
Outdoor breaker panel questions lhoney2 Electrical 12 07-19-2007 05:44 PM
Breaker Buzz SkipI Electrical 2 07-13-2007 07:48 PM
Holy smoking commander breaker drogosandybanks Electrical 13 01-10-2007 02:34 PM
Breaker keeps being thrown (solution?) JH7800 Electrical 4 06-28-2006 03:55 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.