Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-23-2012, 03:36 AM   #31
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,572
Rewards Points: 2,474
Default

a/c fuses?


Have you looked in closets? Quite often they will install a duplex box up high in a closet....typically utility closet....and the transformer will be that cube sticking out of the wall.

__________________
Even if you are on the right track, you will still get run over if you just sit there.

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 06:37 AM   #32
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Md/Pa
Posts: 1,350
Rewards Points: 1,056
Default

a/c fuses?


I'm not a HVAC tech but I have ran across small transformers with internal one shot fuses in other equipment. Could this be possible? Do you have a way to safely measure the 120 volt AC input and 24 volt output? That would be a good starting point for troubleshooting this problem.

Last edited by zappa; 04-23-2012 at 06:39 AM.
zappa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 07:18 AM   #33
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

a/c fuses?


We are all just taking shots in the dark here. The OP stated he didn't have power after shorting out the TStat, I don't think he has even said what power he didn't have or how he knew there was no power. If he's talking the 24V for the TStat, he could have blew the TStat after shorting it out. We don't even know the Stat is good anymore.
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 08:07 AM   #34
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,588
Rewards Points: 2,084
Default

a/c fuses?


----deleted-----

Last edited by hammerlane; 04-23-2012 at 08:34 AM.
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 08:23 AM   #35
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,876
Rewards Points: 2,204
Default

a/c fuses?


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
We are all just taking shots in the dark here.

No we're not.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2012, 04:53 AM   #36
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Ky
Posts: 230
Rewards Points: 150
Default

a/c fuses?


It would be nice if the OP would come back and let us know what happened.
Jeeps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2012, 09:12 AM   #37
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

a/c fuses?


Jeeps - I'm very sorry! I actually did reply yesterday, but something must have happened to my post. Stupid Smart Phones! So, here it is again: I was able to finally get in the attic yesterday morning (I've been doing all of this around a 1yr old, 5yr old, & 16yr old), and found a blown 5amp fuse on the air handler! Replacing it took care of the problem, and the guy at Home Depot even gave me 3 free fuses! Besides slicing my hand on a metal strip when it slid off the wrench, and sweating my butt off in an attic while it's over 100 degrees outside, it was pretty easy!
twenta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2012, 09:15 AM   #38
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

a/c fuses?


Now you know where the air handler is
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2012, 09:17 AM   #39
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

a/c fuses?


I would like to thank everyone for their information and opinions - especially Code 5 and Doc Holliday! This has helped me immensely! I would really hate to pay a professional to come out and tell me I had a blown fuse - no offense to any of you out there! Plus, I really don't like having people come out when my husband is out of town! Again, thanks to all!
twenta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2012, 09:20 AM   #40
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

a/c fuses?


a7ecorsair - now I know a lot more about these things! Hopefully, there won't be a next time, but if there is I should know what to do! Lol
twenta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2012, 04:32 PM   #41
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Ky
Posts: 230
Rewards Points: 150
Default

a/c fuses?


Good to hear, sorry about the injury but now you have been "christened" in to a DIYer !


Last edited by Jeeps; 04-24-2012 at 05:55 PM.
Jeeps is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heat pump wiring and fuses icandoitmyself1 HVAC 13 06-01-2014 05:15 AM
Are fuses still used in new construction? SilveradoGuy Electrical 6 01-17-2012 06:23 PM
Replacing 240V fuses for dryer Mark77 Electrical 14 01-10-2012 10:06 PM
Goodman central air and heat blowing fuses DannyR HVAC 13 05-29-2011 07:21 PM
First time with old style fuses in fuse panel darsunt Electrical 3 06-20-2007 04:53 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.