Bus Bar In Junction Bar - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-23-2013, 10:38 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

bus bar in junction bar


Have a 1950s house that someone rewired and connected neutral and grounds together on the same bus bar in a junction box. my question is what is the best way to fix this?? I know that this is completely wrong. it negates the point of grounding by making ground a conductor. just not sure if putting in a new bus bar for neutral or wiring all neutrals together is a good fix

Advertisement

bizarre330 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 11:02 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: southeastern mass.
Posts: 174
Rewards Points: 180
Default

bus bar in junction bar


need more info. is this a junction box, as you stated, or a main service panel, or a sub pane? only in a main panel which has the first disconnect are grounds and neutral allowed to be connected together. all other boxes require neutrals and ground to be separated.

bernie

Advertisement

bernie963 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 11:06 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: southeastern mass.
Posts: 174
Rewards Points: 180
Default

bus bar in junction bar


is the wiring old two wire romex? on hot, one neutral and no ground. if so that is a bootleg ground and BAD. If it is, you have several options. before anyone goes over the options, clarify my first post.

bernie
bernie963 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 11:06 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

bus bar in junction bar


Who ever did this in 1980 used and old kitchen fuse panel as a junction box. They also updated the load center butwired in this stupid junction box.
bizarre330 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 11:10 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: southeastern mass.
Posts: 174
Rewards Points: 180
Default

bus bar in junction bar


any chance of a picture of the old fuse box and the sep (service entrance panel).

bernie
bernie963 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 11:48 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

bus bar in junction bar


bus bar in junction bar-0323131145.jpg
bizarre330 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 11:51 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

bus bar in junction bar


reason for all this is that the new panel that was put in 1980 was a fpe. replacing the fpe and need to straighten up this mess.
bizarre330 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 11:53 AM   #8
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

bus bar in junction bar


The proper way to fix this problem is to shut off all the power to your house and splice the correct neutrals together. Each neutral has to be spliced to a specific neutral(s) or you run the risk of overloading the wire and creating a fire hazard. The grounds shown can stay on the bar.

I HIGHLY suggest you call a licensed and insured electrician for this repair. If things are not done properly, you can create a fire hazard or fry anything electronic you may have in your home.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
jbfan (03-23-2013)
Old 03-23-2013, 11:58 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

bus bar in junction bar


i have some knowledge of electrical systems and my wifes uncle is a maintence supervisor for a large industrial company. hell be helping me just want to explore any other thoughts from any one else.
bizarre330 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 07:50 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

bus bar in junction bar


Bernie

yes it is two wire romex. need the panel fixed first then this horrible junction box. then I will be ripping out all old romex an replace with 12 - 2through out house. lots of wire and drywall but its the only safe way to make it right and safe.
bizarre330 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 07:52 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

bus bar in junction bar


K buz

That is what I assumed would be the correct way. use as a large junction box until the desire each circuit properly. just exploring all options.
bizarre330 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 08:28 PM   #12
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

bus bar in junction bar


There really are no other options that I can see.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 08:48 PM   #13
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,388
Rewards Points: 3,570
Blog Entries: 4
Default

bus bar in junction bar


The neutrals can not be ganged together like that except at the main or sub panel. Ganging the neutrals like that combines all the currents from the different circuits and could easily overload the neutral going to the panel. What size neutral is from the bar to the panel?
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 09:40 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

bus bar in junction bar


12 gauge.
bizarre330 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 11:11 PM   #15
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,388
Rewards Points: 3,570
Blog Entries: 4
Default

bus bar in junction bar


You have a fire waiting to happen. Imagine 5 circuits on one leg of the panel each drawing 12 amps. That would not trip any breakers but that 12 gauge neutral could be carrying 60 amps.

Advertisement

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Temperature in junction box buried under R49 insulation (heat detectors/smoke alarm) darlingm Electrical 2 01-16-2012 04:55 PM
Garage feeder junction box bonding WillK Electrical 0 06-05-2011 11:03 AM
grounding old 2 wire junction to grounded junction gm8075 Electrical 3 03-28-2011 12:46 PM
Installing ceiling fixture with a metal junction box Romanuke Electrical 12 03-20-2011 03:37 PM
Junction boxes for garage T8 fixtures mazeroth Electrical 13 01-25-2010 10:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts