Burying Wire Underground - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-14-2008, 08:12 PM   #16
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

burying wire underground


Quote:
Originally Posted by 220/221 View Post
Hey, I try to learn something new every single day.


I even learned something from Petey one time.



(D) "shall be permitted for different voltages" seems to say that I can run a 240 for a welder and a couple of 120 circuits if they share a neutral.

(E) says something about "documented safe switching proceedures". I'll look that up in the unlikely event that I want to run multiple circuits to an outbuilding.

I don't recall ever running multiple circuits to a separate building. It makes more sense and is a better installation to install a sub and that's why I have always done it.

I never knew it was illegal to install multiples.
Have you really ever read a code book, some of your posts scare me...

Advertisement

chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2008, 11:53 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

burying wire underground


Hey Chris. You don't need to be afraid of me...unless you talk like that to my face


If you had any common sense or the ability to use simple deductive reasoning, you would KNOW I have read a code book as I QUOTED it in my post.

Now STFU and go bother your boyfriend.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2008, 12:06 AM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 51
Rewards Points: 75
Default

burying wire underground


i am not an electrician but i wonder...why mess with conduit..bury either direct bury cable or run a 4 inch perferated tile with a rope in it...bury your tile and when you figure out what size of wire you need for a sub panel...you are good to go

and hell...if you are going to the trouble of wanting a circuit or two in your garage...you will be much happier with a sub panel..so you can add on later..when you get that new table saw....air compressor...couple of 500 watt lights for workin gunder your car..beer fridge...etc
billie_t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2008, 11:01 AM   #19
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Rewards Points: 500
Default

burying wire underground


Quote:
Originally Posted by billie_t View Post
i am not an electrician but i wonder...why mess with conduit..bury either direct bury cable or run a 4 inch perferated tile with a rope in it...bury your tile and when you figure out what size of wire you need for a sub panel...you are good to go
As long as the perforated tile is listed for use with electrical conductors.

If it was me, I'd put in 1 1/4 PVC conduit. In the future I could pull out the smaller wires and pull in a 100 amp feeder. Conduit is cheap and easy.
jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2008, 11:31 AM   #20
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

burying wire underground


Quote:
Originally Posted by 220/221 View Post
Hey Chris. You don't need to be afraid of me...unless you talk like that to my face


If you had any common sense or the ability to use simple deductive reasoning, you would KNOW I have read a code book as I QUOTED it in my post.

Now STFU and go bother your boyfriend.
I know you dont read the code... but hey... do as you feel because you have commen sense...
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2008, 01:15 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

burying wire underground


Quote:
I know you dont read the code


Do you think this came to me in a vision?

Quote:
(D) "shall be permitted for different voltages" seems to say that I can run a 240 for a welder and a couple of 120 circuits if they share a neutral.

(E) says something about "documented safe switching proceedures". I'll look that up in the unlikely event that I want to run multiple circuits to an outbuilding.

A question came up, someone responded with the article, I looked it up and learned something.

^Read that again s l o w l y and try to understand.

Quit being a little douchebag and you might learn somethin too.




PS. Legal or not, direct burial wire is lame. I would never install it.....common sense. Even protected wire sometimes fails.

Last edited by 220/221; 03-15-2008 at 01:26 PM.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2008, 01:31 PM   #22
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

burying wire underground


Quote:
Originally Posted by 220/221 View Post
Do you think this came to me in a vision?




A question came up, someone responded with the article, I looked it up and learned something.

^Read that again s l o w l y and try to understand.

Quit being a little douchebag and you might learn somethin too.
Name calling must make you feel so wam and fuzzy inside.... And to think I only thought my kids did that... o'well guess I did learn something...thanks 220...
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2008, 05:19 PM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

burying wire underground


Your let your kids call you a Dbag?


Dude, you started the BS to make you feel superior, I am just calling you on it.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2008, 06:26 PM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 51
Rewards Points: 75
Default

burying wire underground


i am not an electrician but in my area (ontario canada) i know 4 inch perf. tile is permitted..i have central metering and i have services going to 4 buildings from my pole..all installed by an electrician and i took out permits and inspections... and they guy who said direct bury is no good?..maybe he is right i dont know..i only gave it as an option
billie_t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2008, 06:32 PM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 51
Rewards Points: 75
Default

burying wire underground


i should have added..the perf tile i used for my latest service (this january) it is now code to bury red tape a foot or so over top of the tile so any diggers in the future will see that there is electic cabe there

i think is fairly new because my last three services it was not required when we installed them
maybe a licensed sparky could comment on this?
billie_t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2008, 06:39 PM   #26
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 51
Rewards Points: 75
Default

burying wire underground


Quote:
Originally Posted by 220/221 View Post



PS. Legal or not, direct burial wire is lame. I would never install it.....common sense. Even protected wire sometimes fails.

220/221
you are right they can fail...my sister has direct bury and it did indeed fail...the service guy had some gadget that he hooked to the service panel and then walked with his earphones on and went right to the break...dug it up and repaired it in about an hour

are these type of repairs good?...if they are would it be cheaper to do this repair than pull all the wire out of a tile and put new wire back in?
allthough i think a break in the tile would be much less often?
billie_t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2008, 06:42 PM   #27
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,227
Rewards Points: 2,424
Default

burying wire underground


I gotta ask... why would you bother with perforated tile for a direct bury cable? 4 inch?

BTW 220/221 you left out the 'Different Characteristics' sub title to the exception.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2008, 06:49 PM   #28
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 51
Rewards Points: 75
Default

burying wire underground


[quote=Stubbie;107980]I gotta ask... why would you bother with perforated tile for a direct bury cable? 4 inch?

i didnt use direct bury....i only gave it as an option
billie_t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2008, 07:05 PM   #29
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,227
Rewards Points: 2,424
Default

burying wire underground


Ok, but what would you run through perforated tile that would be compliant if it isn't direct burial rated?
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2008, 07:10 PM   #30
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

burying wire underground


Quote:
BTW 220/221 you left out the 'Different Characteristics' sub title to the exception.

I thought that referred to the different voltages as described within that section.


Am I misunderstanding something?



Utility companys here in AZ stopped direct burying cable in the 80's. Everything is in PVC. I suspect they spend a LOT of time repairing gopher bite marks.

Advertisement


Last edited by 220/221; 03-15-2008 at 07:12 PM.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stranded wire on screw connections BigJimmy Electrical 7 01-19-2008 03:42 PM
Can you wire a 3-way circuit with 2 wire + ground mnyman2003 Electrical 8 12-04-2007 09:23 AM
Stove Top wire capt2 Electrical 8 10-05-2007 02:41 PM
Old house, new light fixture, too many wires Persephonee Electrical 3 01-15-2007 09:58 AM
Does a 6 x 12ga wire nut exist? peeks Electrical 1 10-02-2005 10:58 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts