Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-13-2012, 01:22 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 3
Share |
Unhappy

Burying Power Line


Please help. I have no electrical knowledge. I have gotten a bid for an electrician to burying the line that drapes into my small backyard. The bid says he will use "4/0 aluminum wires. For a 200 amp service." Help. What is 4/0? Do I want aluminum wires? Do I want copper wires? If this is for a 200 amp service and someday I remodel making a need for additional breakers/service, then will I have to dig and add more wire? Many, many thanks to all that can educate me! LK, Houston.

txlulu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2012, 01:29 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 452
Default

Burying Power Line


So you have a 200Amp service now? or your upgrading to a 200Amp service. I'm not an electrician, but I'm pretty sure the wires coming into your panel from the street are almost always aluminum. The 4/0 just is the thickness of the wire, 4 gauge.

CopperClad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2012, 02:11 AM   #3
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,550
Default

Burying Power Line


Aluminum is much cheaper, with no difference in functionality for this purpose. If you need to upgrade the service to more than 200A in the future, you would have to replace the cable. For more than a 200A service, parallel conductors are likely to be required, and possibly multiple conduits. If you think you'll need to upgrade in the future then it would be wise to install two 3" conduits now since most of the expense is trenching.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2012, 12:04 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 3
Default

Burying Power Line


Yes, my current service is 200 with no open breakers. Thank you for your post and advice.
txlulu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2012, 12:06 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 3
Default

Burying Power Line


Thanks! This is great information. I appreciate your post.
txlulu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2012, 12:18 PM   #6
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,663
Default

Burying Power Line


Quote:
Originally Posted by txlulu View Post
I have gotten a bid for an electrician to burying the line that drapes into my small backyard. The bid says he will use "4/0 aluminum wires.
Aluminum is fine.

What does the power company say?
Around here Duke would do it.


TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aluminum, bury, copper, size, wire


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How does grounding work? scyarch Electrical 44 06-12-2012 04:59 PM
new underground power and new water line David P Building & Construction 3 05-31-2012 09:24 AM
Complete blockage of main line mnp13 Plumbing 9 05-29-2012 10:51 AM
house power supply upgrade in Australia pcd1965 Electrical 3 08-22-2009 08:17 PM
moving incoming power line and grounding rod amakarevic Electrical 3 07-28-2008 11:24 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.