Bury Power Line - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-08-2012, 07:19 AM   #16
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,904
Rewards Points: 2,162
Default

Bury power line


Quote:
Originally Posted by md2lgyk View Post
Not where I live (maybe could be if going underground is just something the homeowner wants to do, but here underground is mandatory). I dug the trench and laid the conduit, but the PoCo pulled the wires at no cost to me.
So you are a home-owner who recently had this done? I'm not sure that qualifies you to make the assessment that most places are the same as yours. (Not that it really matters, does it)
In all my years of coming to boards like this talking to other electrical contractors it is my assessment that most areas are more like my area where UG service laterals are on the customer's $$.

Advertisement

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.

Last edited by Speedy Petey; 08-08-2012 at 07:22 AM.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 10:26 AM   #17
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Bury power line


Up here power company does everything line side of the meter. Most services are underground to start with. Sometimes a service upgrade can cost tens of thousands depending on how far they have to go for the pole to the meter.
__________________
Sarcasm is my friend
I'm here to learn too, i do mostly commercial/industrial/new construction and this place is a great way to pick up tips on residential from some good electrical minds. Excuse the spelling, my phone has a mind of it's own.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 02:18 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Md/Pa
Posts: 1,499
Rewards Points: 1,354
Default

Bury power line


Quote:
Originally Posted by md2lgyk View Post
but here underground is mandatory). I dug the trench and laid the conduit, but the PoCo pulled the wires at no cost to me.
Are you with Allegheny/First Energy? That's the same deal I have here but overhead is allowed in PA but not in Maryland. They also supply the meter pan in WV only.
zappa is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 05:06 PM   #19
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Bury power line


Quote:
Originally Posted by zappa View Post
... overhead is allowed in PA but not in Maryland.....
MD has implemented mandatory underground for all new installations for over 40 years.

In most cases, the POCO has the responsibility to supply, install, and maintain the wiring up to the meter, but the customer has to pay for it.

Advertisement

__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Complete blockage of main line mnp13 Plumbing 9 05-29-2012 11:51 AM
wiring in line light switch on power cord basicbrand Electrical 4 12-08-2009 10:36 AM
Do I need to prime my oil feed line? 1parkpointer HVAC 3 10-22-2009 07:52 PM
house power supply upgrade in Australia pcd1965 Electrical 3 08-22-2009 09:17 PM
moving incoming power line and grounding rod amakarevic Electrical 3 07-29-2008 12:24 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts