Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-31-2013, 09:43 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,867
Share |
Default

Burnt Wires


There is probably nothing wrong except that the set screws where the wires are burned were not tightened down.

Even if you had 20 ampere fuses on the 14 gauge wires (improper), the dishwasher and disposer under normal use aren't going to be drawing enough power long enough to burn the wires with no loose connection.

A loose connection can lead to overheating of that kind with less than a quarter of the amperes rating being drawn, thus the breaker does not trip. It is possible that just one loose connection got the metal terminal strip (bus bar) so hot that wires in neighboring slots got burned also.

__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.

Last edited by AllanJ; 03-31-2013 at 09:55 PM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to AllanJ For This Useful Post:
Kyle_in_rure (03-31-2013), mpoulton (04-01-2013)
Old 04-01-2013, 11:46 AM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 15
Default

Burnt Wires


Quote:
Originally Posted by AllanJ View Post
There is probably nothing wrong except that the set screws where the wires are burned were not tightened down.

Even if you had 20 ampere fuses on the 14 gauge wires (improper), the dishwasher and disposer under normal use aren't going to be drawing enough power long enough to burn the wires with no loose connection.

A loose connection can lead to overheating of that kind with less than a quarter of the amperes rating being drawn, thus the breaker does not trip. It is possible that just one loose connection got the metal terminal strip (bus bar) so hot that wires in neighboring slots got burned also.
Thanks for the explanation. This makes sense. Also the breaker is 15 amps.
greencat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 12:26 PM   #18
Always learning...
 
fetzer85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Northern WV
Posts: 452
Default

Burnt Wires


While we're on this topic, does code give any specific torque specs for the buss bar screws? All mine are 'tight' but anytime I see a problem like this happen I figure the more details we can share the better. Thanks
fetzer85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 02:00 PM   #19
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,644
Default

Burnt Wires


No. Follow the manufacturers installation instructions.

__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to electures For This Useful Post:
fetzer85 (04-01-2013)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can you use wire nuts on a fan light switch with silvery looking wires? amodoko Electrical 4 10-28-2012 08:26 PM
Are Dead wires allowed or unsafe? Scooby333 Electrical 31 10-01-2012 01:26 PM
240v conduit with different gauge wires... Biospot Electrical 7 12-14-2010 07:07 PM
Removing wall with wires in it jboswald Electrical 11 11-29-2009 02:55 PM
Three hot wires coming into a receptacle? Jeff DIY Electrical 10 10-07-2009 01:35 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.