Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-18-2012, 03:16 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Burnt up outlet....


Hey everyone, got a question for you

I have a small hot tub, with only a 120 volt 12 amp heater. The previous owner put a regular prong on the end of the wire, ( two vertical instead of one vertical one horizontal)(also, the heater cord says 14/3 on it). I have had this plugged in for a bout a month when i smelled some burning, unplugged it, and it had melted part of the receptacle and the plug itself. This receptacle is a 15 amp gfci duplex outlet on a 20 amp breaker, with no other outlets or lights on it. The wire run to the receptacle is 12 guage.

two questions -
1. why did the hot tub have a 20 amp plug (horizontal and vertical) in the first place if the heater says right on it 120 volt 12 amp?
2. Why did the receptacle burn? A 20 amp breaker, run with 12 ga wire, with a single 15 amp duplex receptacle should hold the power needed, right?(even with 80% load, 15*.8 = 12 amps)

Also - solutions -
should I put a new 20 amp receptacle in its place and put a replacement 20 amp plugin o the cord? or just put in a new 15 amp receptacle and a new replacement 15 amp plug in?

suggestions? ideas? answers? thanks!

apologies for the long post, i wanted to be thorough.

NickThor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2012, 03:43 PM   #2
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Burnt up outlet....


The previous owner probably wanted to use the 15 amp receptacle rather than swap it for a 20. Usually when I find a melted plug and receptacle I find a loose connection. Either on the plug or receptacle wires or on the prongs and contacts themselves. Another possibility is the heater drawing more than the 12 amps due to a problem with the heating element. A amp clamp meter would show that. If it were mine, faced with replacing things anyway, I would replace both the plug and the receptacle with 20 amp devices. And keep a close eye on it for a while. If you have access to an amp clamp it would be helpful for you to check the actual current draw. But enough current to melt a perfectly good plug and receptacle should see the breaker trip before the cord set melts.

__________________
John
jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2012, 04:17 PM   #3
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,557
Rewards Points: 2,010
Default

Burnt up outlet....


Are you sure the total load for the tub is only 12A, not just the heater? The pump is usually a significant load, too. It would be quite unusual (and counterproductive and pointless) for the manufacturer to put a 20A plug on it if it doesn't need one. Regardless, 15A receptacles are rated for 20A internally so it shouldn't have been a problem. I would suggest replacing the plug with a good heavy duty commercial grade plug, and replacing the receptacle with an equally high quality new GFCI. Burned plugs and receptacles happen when there is a slightly loose connection between a prong of the plug and a blade in the receptacle. With a heavy load, the resistance of the loose connection causes heating and it makes itself worse over time. High quality plugs and receptacles make a big difference for high-load appliances like this.
__________________
I am a lawyer, but not your lawyer. And who cares anyways? We're here to talk construction. This is DIY advice, not legal advice.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to mpoulton For This Useful Post:
jrclen (10-18-2012)
Old 10-18-2012, 04:29 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Burnt up outlet....


thats a good point on the pump... kinda of a forehead slap moment, I could not figure out why they would originally install a 20a plug if it wasn't necessary. I think yall are right; when we were moving the tub we had to remove the plug, pull it through a hole in the wood siding part of the tub, then put it back on. Thats probably where the loose connection came into play, when it was reconnected. It would probably be okay going back to 15 amp, but ima play it safe and do a 20 amp receptacle and plug.
NickThor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
15a, 20a, hot, outlet, tub


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Swithced Outlet to Ceiling Light/Fan Troubles adamiano86 Electrical 7 01-29-2012 09:36 PM
Odd Fireplace Outlet Behavior permagrin Electrical 2 12-17-2011 08:06 AM
Switched outlet series Overkll Electrical 4 12-07-2010 07:38 AM
Outlet before light switch; Open Neutral? Fox Electrical 21 09-26-2010 08:38 PM
Help Help richie02 Electrical 7 06-17-2008 08:42 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.