Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-23-2010, 08:18 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Buried Utilities - Electrical / Cable / Fiber Optic


I am planning to build a home in a rural area in West Virginia. I wish to have all my utilities buried. This includes; electrical, telephone, cable (TV), and fiber optical cable (for future use). The 'run' from the nearest power line is 300'.
Can I bury all the utilities in one trench? Can they all be in one conduit?
Do I have to shield the electrical from the other lines?
I will be putting in a driveway - can I bury these lines under the gravel drive?
I want to do this right the first time. Thanks.


Last edited by Robert Bachmann; 03-23-2010 at 08:19 AM. Reason: spelling
Robert Bachmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2010, 08:26 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Buried Utilities - Electrical / Cable / Fiber Optic


I had mine buried
One trench, seperate conduit & I distanced the power from the other 2 conduits
Needs to be buried a certain distance under a driveway
I think 24" ....but I buried mine at 30" - to the top of the conduit

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2010, 08:33 AM   #3
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,894
Rewards Points: 2,044
Default

Buried Utilities - Electrical / Cable / Fiber Optic


Are you burying your service conductors all that way or is the POCO going to locate a transformer nearer to the residence?
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2010, 09:24 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Buried Utilities - Electrical / Cable / Fiber Optic


I'm sorry but I dont know what POCO is. I would like to have all the service conductors buried from where they come off roadway if possible.
Robert Bachmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2010, 09:31 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Buried Utilities - Electrical / Cable / Fiber Optic


POCO = power company
If they are not putting a transformer near your house then there will be a voltage drop with the distance
That will mean running larger wire
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2010, 10:02 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 29
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Buried Utilities - Electrical / Cable / Fiber Optic


You need to keep your power cables separate from your other cables and depending on the distance between the conduits you will need to shield them. Use a 4" conduit for your data lines and make sure to put in a fish (line so you can pull more cables).
clb2010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2010, 10:42 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Buried Utilities - Electrical / Cable / Fiber Optic


Thanks. I can see that it is possible, but that Ill need two conduits.
One for power and another for other services.

Another question - is it a good idea to run this all under a gravel driveway? I can see trenching it in before the gravel is placed.
Is this smart?
Robert Bachmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2010, 10:45 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Buried Utilities - Electrical / Cable / Fiber Optic


Most people run 3 conduits
I have power in one
2nd one has FIOS - which gives me TV, Internet & phone all in one
Most utilities do not like to share a conduit
I think I'd run it on the side/edge of the driveway
Just in case it ever needs to be dug up driveway will still be useable
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2010, 10:51 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Buried Utilities - Electrical / Cable / Fiber Optic


Thanks, good advice. If its not under the driveway, how deeply buried are your conduits?.
Robert Bachmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2010, 10:52 AM   #10
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,894
Rewards Points: 2,044
Default

Buried Utilities - Electrical / Cable / Fiber Optic


Also consider the size of your service. 200 amp, 400 amp, etc. A 200 amp service, to limit voltage drop, will require 300-400 MCM Al conductors, larger for over 200 amps. Not exactly a DIY type of pull IMO for 300'.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2010, 10:52 AM   #11
Professional Wood Shafter
 
ryanh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 186
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Buried Utilities - Electrical / Cable / Fiber Optic


Are you guys just able to lay conduit 24" + deep from grade? Here we have to have it strapped to a 1x4 or some other kind of lumbar
ryanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2010, 11:23 AM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Buried Utilities - Electrical / Cable / Fiber Optic


No, this project is way above my skill level. I will have it contracted out. I am still collecting information on what is possible (and I see that this is) and some other considerations to factor in during the planning. Thanks.
RE lumber in the trench. This is West Virginia. Around here, "Code" is something you get in Winter that makes you cough and sneez.
Robert Bachmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2010, 12:07 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 29
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Buried Utilities - Electrical / Cable / Fiber Optic


Run it along to the driveway and put in a few weather proof "access holes" for just in case. Go at least 3 feet down with 4 being better. Power in one conduit and everything else in the other separated by at least 16" if you can. Since you have the trench open you might as well lay down a couple conduits because you just never know.

As long as you have a fish, there is room in the conduit for them to pull it easily, and its to code then the Utilities should work with you on using your conduit. If they give you a hard time about it escalate up the chain until you get someone who will do more than just say no.

You could do the conduit, trenching, and most of the cabling yourself but you should hire someone to do the electrical. Also when you pull the phone cable use a multi pair cable. That way you can have more than one line coming in. Were it me I would use a 24 pair.
clb2010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2010, 01:24 PM   #14
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,894
Rewards Points: 2,044
Default

Buried Utilities - Electrical / Cable / Fiber Optic


I would also consider a cost analysis between what it will cost to do what you are proposing and what the utility would charge to extend their primary closer to your property.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2010, 09:46 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: nj
Posts: 35
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Buried Utilities - Electrical / Cable / Fiber Optic


if the power is already located underground the cable co will probably run and UG for free if u get their service, but you are only going to get a direct bury or a cheap flex conduit

gnosti83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
buried, underground wiring


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
trenching near buried electric cable rizzo Landscaping & Lawn Care 9 04-22-2009 07:24 PM
Satellite vs. cable coaxial types? Badfish740 Home Theater 6 02-17-2009 11:00 AM
min depth for fiber optic cable underground? MusicMan_234 Electrical 5 01-30-2009 12:32 AM
Please Help Me - 2 Year old electrical problem.... Hollis Electrical 6 08-14-2008 01:46 PM
Coaxial Cable Question bahaisamurai Home Theater 9 08-08-2007 02:54 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.