Buried Sub Feed - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-27-2006, 12:54 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Buried Sub Feed


I have a line that is buried in 1" grey PVC conduit under my yard to feed a sub service in my garage. We now want to erect a pool and when digging to level the ground, we discovered that we are on a couple of inches from this pipe. Do we have to move this line and route it around the pool or will it be ok where it is at? Because of the size of the yard there is really no place for the pool that it would not be on top of the pipe.

Advertisement

fishbone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2006, 08:04 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 107
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Buried Sub Feed


If you're digging the pool where the pipe is then move the pipe, If the pipe doesn't cross the proposed pool then you're fine, just be careful not to damage it, or you'll have big problems later(when the pipe is covered by concrete)

Advertisement

Sparky Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2006, 09:09 PM   #3
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,899
Rewards Points: 2,152
Default

Buried Sub Feed


This is a tough call. Technically it should be 5' away from the pool, unless it is the power supplying the pool equipment. There is an exception allowing it if space limitations prevent maintaining this 5' spacing.
Either way it must be 18" deep.

I would see what your inspector has to say. He may say it is no problem.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2006, 05:48 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Buried Sub Feed


Thanks for the replies! Conduit was originally buried approx. 18" deep, thats how much we had to dig to level the ground. Inspector says it may stay where it is and a couple of local electricians tell me not to worry about it however, I just don't feel comfortable with it directly under the pool. Problem is that code requires me to keep my pool 3 feet from each fence or property line making it difficult to position the pool away from it. I can re-route it around the pool, it won't be quite 5' from the pool but it will be 18" deep (and not directly under the pool). It's just a pain in the butt to have to pull out some of the wire and re-route the pipe. Thanks again!
fishbone is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
12/3 Romex to Feed 2 Circuits? DaveHembree Electrical 22 09-28-2007 09:24 AM
Multiple feeds on 14/3 wire roadhouse1301 Electrical 2 11-10-2006 01:16 AM
Buried utilities Rich Plumbing 1 08-04-2006 06:47 PM
Main/Sub/Garage Gen Backup Questions crecore Electrical 9 04-17-2006 07:31 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts