Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-16-2011, 01:00 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 28
Share |
Default

Burial wire question


I am running 4/0,4/0,2/0 USE wire to my new 200 amp service in my enclosed pole building. Can part of the wire be in the schedule 40 2" conduit and part of it directly buried as log as I use a bushing and at the ends of the conduit and bury that part in sand? The inspector said I can do it where the wire comes out of the conduit which has already been buried but I did not clarify that I would be coming out of a piece of conduit, leaving a 3 or 4 foot space and going back into another 50 feet of conduit. I would like to do this because it is a bear trying to fish wire through 2" conduit and glue it all together when both ends are fixed in place. Having a 3 or 4 foot space at one end makes the project more doable.

stevo1213 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2011, 01:17 AM   #2
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Default

Burial wire question


If I am reading this correctly, yes. Why the conduit in the middle between structures/buildings for USE? Only required where it is exposed.

Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2011, 11:18 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 28
Default

Burial wire question


I dropped the 2" conduit in the same ditch as the one which provides the wire from the transformer to the house when I had it built 13 years ago. I had the excavator also dig the trench a little toward where the shop would one day be. I put a cap on the end marked it and it was buried for later use. The other end connects to the 400 amp meter base. This was done to avoid tearing up the yard again. The part where I wanted to leave the wire exposed 3 feet is at the beginning of the trench where the conduit end was dug out in the yard. Since it was put in with the utility cable, it is also 3feet deep at that point. I hope this makes sense.
stevo1213 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2011, 11:22 AM   #4
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,798
Default

Burial wire question


IMO you'd be crazy to do this. Just complete the conduit run.

Pulling wire into a complete conduit run is standard practice, it is NOT always a bear. If it is then something is probably wrong.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2011, 09:00 PM   #5
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Default

Burial wire question


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
IMO you'd be crazy to do this. Just complete the conduit run.

Pulling wire into a complete conduit run is standard practice, it is NOT always a bear. If it is then something is probably wrong.
Agreed. But is the install legal? Seems to be.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2011, 09:33 PM   #6
liscenced electrician
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Oregon coast
Posts: 983
Default

Burial wire question


i would absolutly never do what he is talking about. You basicly end up with a coduit run that is busted in the middle. Just put a little bit more effort in and do it right


PS. Wire gets pulled in AFTER the conduit run is 100% complete. You don't pull in wire as you go
jimmy21 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2011, 12:50 AM   #7
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Default

Burial wire question


Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmy21 View Post
i would absolutly never do what he is talking about. You basicly end up with a coduit run that is busted in the middle. Just put a little bit more effort in and do it right


PS. Wire gets pulled in AFTER the conduit run is 100% complete. You don't pull in wire as you go
Most of wouldn't, but it it legal. It is not a complete run.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Code05 For This Useful Post:
stevo1213 (10-17-2011)
Old 10-17-2011, 08:58 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 28
Default

Burial wire question


I asked the question for inspection purposes. Pulling 4/0, 4/0, 2/0 through 180 feet of conduit with two 90's is more easily said than done especially when doing it mostly by yourself. The main purpose of the conduit is for protection purposes only. I don't ever plan on pulling anything else through it.
Thanks for the help.
stevo1213 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2011, 05:47 PM   #9
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Burial wire question


I would also go with all schedule 80 conduit the whole way. A really hefty rope and some wire lube and you should be able to get it through. You could also use a ratcheting cable winch thing. I have seen large runs like this done with heavy rope and a tractor or truck.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2011, 06:43 PM   #10
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,798
Default

Burial wire question


Quote:
Originally Posted by rrolleston View Post
A really hefty rope and some wire lube and you should be able to get it through. You could also use a ratcheting cable winch thing. I have seen large runs like this done with heavy rope and a tractor or truck.
Who are you watching do this???
180' with two 90's is child's play for 2 men, even without pulling lube.

Try 500' and 3+ 90's. THAT needs some outside help.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2011, 08:06 PM   #11
liscenced electrician
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Oregon coast
Posts: 983
Default

Burial wire question


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
Who are you watching do this???
180' with two 90's is child's play for 2 men, even without pulling lube.

Try 500' and 3+ 90's. THAT needs some outside help.
500', 5 90's and an overfilled conduit is more like it

jimmy21 is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to jimmy21 For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (10-18-2011), Speedy Petey (10-17-2011)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ground Wire Size Question Suprageezer Electrical 12 07-28-2011 03:00 PM
question on 240 wire size and ground for wall oven twobyfour2 Electrical 8 04-30-2011 07:13 AM
Basement Bedroom Wire Question ithawk Electrical 5 01-09-2011 03:36 PM
Electric Wire question Mr Big Electrical 8 05-04-2010 02:01 PM
Question about underground wire type Tmb9862 Electrical 9 11-26-2009 10:35 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.