Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-08-2007, 05:01 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 204
Share |
Default

bundling romex, code?


I don't like the idea of drilling my basement joists like swiss cheese, and I have all my runs going along the perimeter of my basement and upto the walls above (nothing really through the stud/walls themselves).

Can I bundle them all together, maybe like five 12/2's together with zip ties and secure them to the rafter? Or will my inspector have a fit? Otherwise do I have to nail every wire below the joist spaced apart? I don't like this because I want to finish the ceiling someday, and thought I could just bring the walls out 3" to hide the bundles along the perimiter.

seems like a good idea to me, unless any wires ever heated up... which is why they're on a correctly rated breaker, right?

johnnyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2007, 05:16 PM   #2
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

bundling romex, code?


Article 334.15 (C) would prevent you from stapling to the bottom of the joist, and 300.15 (B)(2) would limit your bundled cables to 9 current carrying conductors before you would have to start derating your cables...


Personally, just drill out your basement...or install running boards...

chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2007, 05:21 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 204
Default

bundling romex, code?


noted. thanks.
johnnyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2007, 05:23 PM   #4
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

bundling romex, code?


Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyboy View Post
noted. thanks.
I don't agree with bored holes as bundling, some inspectors may, so to be safe you may just want to keep the holes at 3-4 cables each, and I generally use a 1" bit, just make a jig up to mark all your holes you will appreciate the end result...
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2007, 07:11 PM   #5
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,851
Default

bundling romex, code?


Make sure your holes are no closer than 2 inches to the face of the joist and don't make holes bigger than D/3. Other than that I am with the advice given by Chris75.
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2007, 10:23 PM   #6
Contractor in PA
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: SE PA
Posts: 43
Default

bundling romex, code?


If you decide to drill out the joist, here is a tip....drill out every other joist going in one direction and then come back drilling the other joist from the opposite direction. The result is something like a wave as opposed to a saw tooth pattern. It will make a big difference on the effort needed during the wire pull.
michaelpwalton1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2007, 05:57 AM   #7
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

bundling romex, code?


Quote:
Originally Posted by michaelpwalton1 View Post
If you decide to drill out the joist, here is a tip....drill out every other joist going in one direction and then come back drilling the other joist from the opposite direction. The result is something like a wave as opposed to a saw tooth pattern. It will make a big difference on the effort needed during the wire pull.

Thats why I said make a jig for marking your holes...

chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What's the ICC Electrical Code? Chuck Electrical 7 02-20-2013 10:19 AM
Code requirement to replace bathroom window. Rem8 Building & Construction 5 06-16-2008 02:57 PM
Another Bryant 383KVA with code 31 problems rpgIVguru HVAC 1 02-05-2007 01:47 PM
code question JustJoe Building & Construction 3 01-27-2007 09:06 AM
Pulling romex thru wall with old romex? Doug Crf Electrical 4 04-11-2006 09:33 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.