Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-23-2012, 09:07 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2
Share |
Question

Bulldog Pushmatic "fuse"? questions


Full disclaimer in that I have essentially zero electrical repair knowledge.

I have a Bulldog Pushmatic breaker system which works fine. However, the "fuse" (or is it breaker for this set up?) won't stay in the "on" position for the air conditioner anymore. Is this something I can replace on my own or should I call on a professional?

Thanks for any advice!

Photos below:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/17622276@N00/7255679474

http://www.flickr.com/photos/17622276@N00/7255678954


juliog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 09:35 AM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,417
Default

Bulldog Pushmatic "fuse"? questions


Pushmatics are breakers, not fuses.

They are obsolete, but can be obtained. They screw into the bus unlike the more common push-on breakers. Installation is not too hard.

You may want to find out why the breaker will not reset. It could be a breaker issue or there might be a wiring issue.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 11:26 AM   #3
Sparky
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 698
Default

Bulldog Pushmatic "fuse"? questions


Breaker could very likely be doing it's job, have the A/C Checked.
Techy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 11:31 AM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Bulldog Pushmatic "fuse"? questions


Turn off the AC disconnect or unplug it then try to turn the breaker on and if it stays on test the circuit.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 11:45 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2
Default

Bulldog Pushmatic "fuse"? questions


Thanks, all!
juliog is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Basic (hopefully) electrical questions k2000lbs Electrical 10 04-27-2011 12:59 PM
Fake Double Pole Breaker in Pushmatic johnk88 Electrical 17 03-01-2011 10:37 PM
How thick should my thinset be? yummy mummy Tiling, ceramics, marble 20 09-28-2009 12:36 PM
Laminate wood floor layout questions nathan.tran Flooring 4 08-30-2008 10:56 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.