Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-21-2013, 12:04 PM   #1

Share |
Question

Bulbs blew on new track lighting - why?

Hello there! I am posting here to see if anyone has any insight into this problem. I am a noob to home electrical, so I am hoping that if I describe this clearly, it will be obvious to someone with more experience what the issue is.

Some background: We have a spare room that the previous owners of this house converted from a garage. In this room were two ceiling fan/light combinations. The ceiling fans have three speeds. The two fans are on the same circuit - that is, they can be turned off and on with the same light switch. Although the fan/light combos can be turned off and on from the wall-mounted light switch, they also have switches on the device for turning on/off the light, as well as setting the fan to one of three speeds, or off.

I decided that I did not like the fans, and wanted to replace them with track lighting. So, I went down to Home Depot and bought a Hampton Bay track with 4 halogen lights to put on it.

I shut down all power for the house via the breaker box, and proceeded to remove the first fan. I then assembled and attached the track and lights to the wires that the fan was attached to.

When this was all completed, I turned the power back on, and switched them on. The lights came on as expected. One thing that was unexpected is that when we turned off the lights from the switch - but had the remaining fan