Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-17-2013, 08:47 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South TX outside San Antonio
Posts: 152
Rewards Points: 150
Default

building new house 200' from meter


My son is building a new home on 12 acres. He wants to locate his house about 200' from the POCO meter. The property came with a 200a main panel with a 200 main breaker on a riser at the meter. It has feed through lugs to send to the house.

Two things holding this idea up. Voltage drop and price of wire. I figured on using 4/0 Thwn wire in conduit under ground at $5ftx3. Not sure about the voltage drop. Will it work?


He may have to move the house closer.

n175h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 09:17 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,965
Rewards Points: 2,026
Default

building new house 200' from meter


For voltage drop purposes (3%) you need 1/O copper or 3/O aluminum.

(Lose no more than 8 volts out of 240 at 200 amps, resistance over 400' round trip must be less than 0.04 ohms)

But in this specific situation you don't have to be concerned about voltage drop because you need yet larger wire for 200 amps over any distance, namely 2/O copper or 4/O aluminum.

The numbers I copied off the web for the equipment grounding conductor (4'th wire) is 4 gauge, for grounding electrode conductors to ground rods 6 gauge, and for GEC to water pipe 3 gauge (use 2 gauge), (copper for the 200 amp service).

__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.

Last edited by AllanJ; 03-17-2013 at 09:40 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 09:23 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,123
Rewards Points: 3,364
Default

building new house 200' from meter


#1 Please go back and add your location to your profile!
Just go to Quick links to edit.

No clue how it works there but around here the power company will run a line from the pole to the house for free within limits, and the meter base is mounted to the side of the house not on a pole 200' away.
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 11:02 AM   #4
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,901
Rewards Points: 2,058
Default

building new house 200' from meter


Quote:
Originally Posted by AllanJ View Post
For voltage drop purposes (3%) you need 1/O copper or 3/O aluminum.

(Lose no more than 8 volts out of 240 at 200 amps, resistance over 400' round trip must be less than 0.04 ohms)

But in this specific situation you don't have to be concerned about voltage drop because you need yet larger wire for 200 amps over any distance, namely 2/O copper or 4/O aluminum.

The numbers I copied off the web for the equipment grounding conductor (4'th wire) is 4 gauge, for grounding electrode conductors to ground rods 6 gauge, and for GEC to water pipe 3 gauge (use 2 gauge), (copper for the 200 amp service).
1/0 Cu and 3/0 aluminum are NEVER sufficient for a 200 amp service.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to brric For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (03-18-2013), k_buz (03-17-2013), Speedy Petey (03-18-2013)
Old 03-17-2013, 11:18 AM   #5
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,132
Rewards Points: 2,056
Default

building new house 200' from meter


Quote:
Originally Posted by n175h View Post
My son is building a new home on 12 acres. He wants to locate his house about 200' from the POCO meter. The property came with a 200a main panel with a 200 main breaker on a riser at the meter. It has feed through lugs to send to the house.

Two things holding this idea up. Voltage drop and price of wire. I figured on using 4/0 Thwn wire in conduit under ground at $5ftx3. Not sure about the voltage drop. Will it work?


He may have to move the house closer.
I probably wouldn't sweat it pulling the 4/0 AL. at 200', you will need another disconnect at the structure and another grounding electrode system. (i.e, ground rods, uffer, etc...) You will need 4 conductors going to from the meter to the house as well....
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 11:24 AM   #6
Common Sense Common Guy
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: So. IL near STL
Posts: 96
Rewards Points: 75
Default

building new house 200' from meter


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
1/0 Cu and 3/0 aluminum are NEVER sufficient for a 200 amp service.
Tell that to my power company who used 2/0 AL when they built the house. To be fair, they only used a 15 kVA transformer, so it was highly likely they'd smoke it first.

When we did an upgrade to 320 service, they were a bit surprised I didn't have light dimming problems or other voltage problems, but said that 2/0 AL was what a lot of homes were provisioned with in the late 80's, early 90's.
flasherz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 11:29 AM   #7
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,132
Rewards Points: 2,056
Default

building new house 200' from meter


Quote:
Originally Posted by flasherz View Post
Tell that to my power company who used 2/0 AL when they built the house. To be fair, they only used a 15 kVA transformer, so it was highly likely they'd smoke it first.

When we did an upgrade to 320 service, they were a bit surprised I didn't have light dimming problems or other voltage problems, but said that 2/0 AL was what a lot of homes were provisioned with in the late 80's, early 90's.
They dont have to abide by the NEC, and you'll always get dimming with high amperage motors starting. People think because you have a 200 amp service, that must be how much the house draws, a good reality check is that you probably have about 30 amps per leg at any given time, probably less.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 12:16 PM   #8
Electrical Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 725
Rewards Points: 500
Default

building new house 200' from meter


Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption

No clue how it works there but around here the power company will run a line from the pole to the house for free within limits, and the meter base is mounted to the side of the house not on a pole 200' away.
My thoughts exactly....
Kyle_in_rure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 12:21 PM   #9
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,132
Rewards Points: 2,056
Default

building new house 200' from meter


Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption View Post

No clue how it works there but around here the power company will run a line from the pole to the house for free within limits, and the meter base is mounted to the side of the house not on a pole 200' away.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kyle_in_rure View Post
My thoughts exactly....
The power company will supply wire up to the meter, we do a lot of pedistal services where I live, people just do not want to look at a meter on the side of a house, and when you have money, you get what you want.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 03:45 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South TX outside San Antonio
Posts: 152
Rewards Points: 150
Default

building new house 200' from meter


Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption View Post
#1 Please go back and add your location to your profile!
Just go to Quick links to edit.
I didn't know I could do that. I put in some info.
n175h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 03:47 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South TX outside San Antonio
Posts: 152
Rewards Points: 150
Default

building new house 200' from meter


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
I probably wouldn't sweat it pulling the 4/0 AL. at 200', you will need another disconnect at the structure and another grounding electrode system. (i.e, ground rods, uffer, etc...) You will need 4 conductors going to from the meter to the house as well....
I was thinking CU, thus the high price. I expected the rest of the needed gear you listed. So, 4/0 AL will suffice?
n175h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 06:59 PM   #12
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,132
Rewards Points: 2,056
Default

building new house 200' from meter


Quote:
Originally Posted by n175h View Post
I was thinking CU, thus the high price. I expected the rest of the needed gear you listed. So, 4/0 AL will suffice?
I have no idea if the 4/0 AL will suffice or not, without the sq. footage of the structure or the load calculations, your guess is as good as mine, 4/0 AL is the minimum, with that said, why not just go with 250 AL? This wont be a huge price increase and probably put your mind at ease if you made the right decision.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
Speedy Petey (03-18-2013)
Old 03-18-2013, 06:04 AM   #13
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,867
Rewards Points: 2,038
Default

building new house 200' from meter


I NYS we have to supply EVERYTHING for an UG service, including the transformer pad. The utility supply the transformer and meter themselves.

IMO 4/0AL is FINE, depending on how much secondary is ahead of the meter pedestal.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 06:11 AM   #14
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,132
Rewards Points: 2,056
Default

building new house 200' from meter


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
I NYS we have to supply EVERYTHING for an UG service, including the transformer pad. The utility supply the transformer and meter themselves.
I've been working in New York a lot now, and the utility requirements are so different from Connecticut POCO requirements... we actually got called back because we didnt terminate the LINE side of the UG meter connections to their requirements.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
IMO 4/0AL is FINE, depending on how much secondary is ahead of the meter pedestal.
I'm really fine with the 4/0 AL. as well... I seriously doubt it will be an issue.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 07:56 AM   #15
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

building new house 200' from meter


Quote:
Originally Posted by n175h View Post
I figured on using 4/0 Thwn wire in conduit under ground at $5ftx3..
Bury some Conduit and pull some 300mcm with a 4/0 neutral and a #2 ground. Should be able to get some 300 feeder wire with stepped down neutral and add a #2 use wire for a ground.


But if your not running a lot of large loads 4/0 should be fine.

__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
House on Crawl Space - Sagging Center Beam - Need Advise stevenrossi Building & Construction 8 12-23-2012 11:35 AM
Replacing main line from meter to house leonuug Plumbing 2 10-17-2012 07:51 AM
Building a Fireplace Dog House Sooze Building & Construction 4 06-12-2012 05:44 AM
Building a house off the grid diyrocks Building & Construction 5 03-10-2011 02:17 PM
Attic Fan AND Whole House Fan PapaGnome HVAC 6 02-15-2009 02:28 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.