Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 11-19-2011, 05:00 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 150

building a main and sub panels for 2 remote buildings

Ok, here goes.

I’m a newbie and have been trolling for a while. They say knowledge is power, but a little knowledge is dangerous. Hopefully, I’m beyond that. I’m planning on building a shop building on a lot I own, then later planning on a new home about 80’ away. My electric plan is as follows:

Electric service main: (shown in the attached picture) Install a 225 amp raintight main panel with a 200 amp breaker containing slots for branch circuits on a framed rack about 27’ from the shop building wall. This rack will be about 8’ from the power company pole and 4’ from my property line, and it will right in front of a 6’ wooden fence in front of my shop building and in sight of each other. It will also be unobstructed and within sight of the future house. My plan is to go underground with the utility’s service from the pole to the meter can on the rack per utility’s service specs. Those can be obtained with an easy phone call. The main will have a 125 amp breaker to feed the shop sub panel and a 125 amp breaker to feed the future house sub panel. Next to the main will have two 8’ copper rods driven in the earth at 6’ apart tied together with #6 copper wire and bonded to the neutral buss in the main’s cabinet clamped with an EK16/EK17 clamp http://www.erico.com/products/EK16EK17.asp at 6” below the surface.