Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-12-2012, 05:10 PM   #16
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,897
Share |
Default

Building Basement with Steel Studs...which Electrical Boxes can I use?


Quote:
Originally Posted by tbeem1 View Post
No, I don't want to use MC cable.

So to recap, I can use steel boxes, so that its steel-on-steel, and as long as I ground each steel box, and claps each cable in, and use the grommets, I should be good? Right?
Hey, go with NM cable and just use these boxes, they are made for steel studs... don't waste your time or money with metal boxes or MC type wire...

http://tools.passandseymour.com/pdf/P06.pdf

stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2012, 05:15 PM   #17
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,897
Default

Building Basement with Steel Studs...which Electrical Boxes can I use?


Quote:
Originally Posted by J. V. View Post
Do not use plastic boxes. Use metal boxes with mud rings. You can also use the NM connectors that snap in. Take a look.
Why use metal? they are more expensive for the same job...
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2012, 05:46 PM   #18
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,992
Default

Building Basement with Steel Studs...which Electrical Boxes can I use?


Quote:
Originally Posted by tbeem1 View Post
So if I use metal boxes, how is the wiring different?
It isn't. Outlets and switches still get wired the same. Only difference from plastic or fiberglass boxes, is that you have to pull enough wire, so that you can loop a ground to the box to ground.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 11:28 AM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

Building Basement with Steel Studs...which Electrical Boxes can I use?


Quote:
Originally Posted by tbeem1 View Post
No, I don't want to use MC cable.
So to recap, I can use steel boxes, so that its steel-on-steel, and as long as I ground each steel box, and claps each cable in, and use the grommets, I should be good? Right?
When wiring the devices, you will ground the box to the receptacle. A grounding jumper will be required if you choose metal.

Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
Why use metal? they are more expensive for the same job...
Less expensive than the ones you provided the link for? Yes. I know plastic is cheaper. But are the ones you show less money?????? And are they readily available to the DIY'er?
If it were wood studs, metal would have never been brought up.
Don't you read the complete thread before you start correcting everyone?
My point is this.
If you use metal studs, run conduit and mount 1900 boxes and mud rings.
If you use wood studs, run NM and use plastic.
Now, what is wrong with that thinking.
Back when I was an apprentice, plastic boxes and NM wire were not even allowed in my jurisdiction.
Metal studs, metal boxes. My suggestion and nothing more.

J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to J. V. For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (06-13-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about steel I BEAM in basement djohns10 Building & Construction 7 06-23-2012 03:55 PM
Basement Steel studs gauge/width? bergerdude Building & Construction 2 03-03-2010 03:27 PM
Steel Studs Basement Insulation Woody10 Building & Construction 2 03-03-2010 08:38 AM
Building Boxes around Vents/Pipes in Basement H Thomas Building & Construction 2 03-28-2008 10:55 AM
Finishing basement - electrical code ??? normwannabe Electrical 1 01-23-2006 07:48 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.