Bryant Electrical Panel - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical


CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-09-2008, 09:41 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Bryant electrical panel


Is anyone familiar with a current breaker I can buy to replace a Bryant?
Also do breakers buzz when they go bad, mine intermittently buzzes when a load is put on it? thanks guys

Advertisement

Teddy1731 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2008, 09:53 AM   #2
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,571
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default


The BR brand of Cutler-Hammer is a listed replacement (can you guess where the BR came from?).

Advertisement

__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2008, 10:46 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,629
Rewards Points: 2,246
Default


Tighten the screw holding the wire to the breaker and see if that stops the buzzing. If not remove the breaker. Check the stab and make sure it has not gotten hot. Make sure the breaker is making good solid contact with the stab. It should take a little force to push it in. If it is easy to push in (loose) try changing the breaker first, or use another breaker in the panel to test it. If it is the panel stab and not the breaker, you probably will need to replace the panel.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2008, 12:13 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Awesome, thanks for the help guys
Teddy1731 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2009, 04:15 PM   #5
RST
DIY Homeowner
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 169
Rewards Points: 150
Default

A related question


I have a question about my Bryant panel. It has a bunch of GE breakers. Are those also permissible for use in a Bryant panel? They don't fit perfectly, but they've been in there for a long time (probably 10-25 years) with no problems (presumably).

Thanks, Robert
RST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2009, 05:32 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default


GE's are not a match for Bryant.

I use Murray/Siemans whick are basically the same as BR's.



Quote:
The BR brand of Cutler-Hammer is a listed replacement (can you guess where the BR came from?).
I did not know that. I thought Siemans was the replacement. I learnt sumpthin new today
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2009, 07:27 PM   #7
Household Handyman
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Albany, Ga.
Posts: 2,468
Rewards Points: 1,388
Default


IF any of us can keep up with "who owns who, and what brands interchange" then we are doing good nowadays. It seems like each day you find out where someone has bought out someone else, and then they sell them to someone else, etc. Why can't the government step in and make a law for universal type circuit breaker to fit all panels? DUH-never mind, stupid question as far as getting the government involved. Thanks, David

Advertisement

Thurman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need to change my electrical panel? 2nd opinion needed I_have_questions Electrical 60 01-30-2009 09:38 AM
How involved is it to replace the electrical panel? Alan Electrical 10 04-12-2008 10:50 AM
Replacement Meter Panel leonard_voet Electrical 19 04-09-2008 10:27 AM
Help with electrical sub panel chrismc77 Electrical 6 08-12-2007 02:36 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

 

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1