Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-05-2013, 12:27 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Bergen County, NJ
Posts: 169
Share |
Default

Bringing Wires into the Side of a Panel and Number of Wires in a NM Cable Clamp?


This may be a stupid question and I've searched, but every panel I've ever seen (Not too many, mainly online), all the romex is coming into the top of the breaker panel. But the panel has knockouts on the side. Is there a reason all the wires typically come in from the top?

Also, I'm using standard NM metal cable clamps. Are there rules on the number of wires that can be clamped under them going into the panel vs. a standard electrical box? I thought you could do multiple for the panel, but you were only supposed to use 1 on a switch box? Reason being I have an old metal box behind tile that I'm not removing and would like to use 2 wires in that cable clamp, as it had BX in it before, and there is only one knockout available for NM clamps.

Ocelaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 12:38 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 26
Default

Bringing Wires into the Side of a Panel and Number of Wires in a NM Cable Clamp?


On my old house with the boxes on the outside of the house, the power from the line feeds into the main from the top. All of the wires going to the house go through knock outs from the bottom and side of the box. My subpannel on my guest house is pretty much the same.

chris_b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 12:46 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,316
Default

Bringing Wires into the Side of a Panel and Number of Wires in a NM Cable Clamp?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Ocelaris View Post
This may be a stupid question and I've searched, but every panel I've ever seen (Not too many, mainly online), all the romex is coming into the top of the breaker panel. But the panel has knockouts on the side. Is there a reason all the wires typically come in from the top?
Makes a neater looking job.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ocelaris View Post
Also, I'm using standard NM metal cable clamps. Are there rules on the number of wires that can be clamped under them going into the panel vs. a standard electrical box? I thought you could do multiple for the panel, but you were only supposed to use 1 on a switch box? Reason being I have an old metal box behind tile that I'm not removing and would like to use 2 wires in that cable clamp, as it had BX in it before, and there is only one knockout available for NM clamps.
If "2 wires" means 2 cables, you're good to go.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 01:10 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

Bringing Wires into the Side of a Panel and Number of Wires in a NM Cable Clamp?


A recessed panel has no ability to allow cables to enter the sides. Flush mount panels are designed to fit into a stud bay. This leaves only the top and bottom available for cables or conduits to enter.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 01:47 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Bergen County, NJ
Posts: 169
Default

Bringing Wires into the Side of a Panel and Number of Wires in a NM Cable Clamp?


Sorry, yes, by 2 "wires" entering the NM Cable clamp, I meant "cable" not individual wires. I just was making sure I could put 2x 12-2 under one standard 3/8" cable clamp.

As for bringing wires in through the side, I didn't know if there were cable management issues with moving wires later etc... if you brought the wires in through the sides, adding transfer switch later etc... I'll try and bring them through the top since that's the way the electrician who upgraded our panel a few months ago did it.

Thanks!
Ocelaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 04:34 PM   #6
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,683
Default

Bringing Wires into the Side of a Panel and Number of Wires in a NM Cable Clamp?


You would need to look at the manufactures instructions on how many cables are allowed per cable clamp, they always list the type and amount on the packaging...
stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 05:22 PM   #7
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Bringing Wires into the Side of a Panel and Number of Wires in a NM Cable Clamp?


I usually just use a clamp for every cable. But once and a while I slip a couple in one clamp to save time. Have not bought any in years since I inherited a bucket full of them. I always have some left over when I replace or upgrade a panel because I slip a couple wires in the same clamp to save time. I still have quite a few left over. So I am not sure about them having a wire rating on them. Larger clamps only one wire per clamp. Larger than 12/2 I only use one wire per clamp.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.

Last edited by rrolleston; 03-05-2013 at 05:24 PM.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 05:25 PM   #8
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,683
Default

Bringing Wires into the Side of a Panel and Number of Wires in a NM Cable Clamp?


Quote:
Originally Posted by rrolleston View Post
I usually just use a clamp for every cable. But once and a while I slip a couple in one clamp to save time. Have not bought any in years since I inherited a bucket full of them. I always have some left over when I replace or upgrade a panel because I slip a couple wires in the same clamp to save time. I still have quite a few left over. So I am not sure about them having a wire rating on them. Larger clamps only one wire per clamp.
Like i said, you need to follow the manufactures instructions... and if I ever used one wire per clamp, i would never fit every wire in a panel... lol ...


here is Arlingtons spec sheets... http://www.aifittings.com/reference/...ble-ranges.pdf

Last edited by stickboy1375; 03-05-2013 at 05:32 PM.
stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 05:37 PM   #9
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Bringing Wires into the Side of a Panel and Number of Wires in a NM Cable Clamp?


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
Like i said, you need to follow the manufactures instructions... and if I ever used one wire per clamp, i would never fit every wire in a panel... lol ...


here is Arlingtons spec sheets... http://www.aifittings.com/reference/...ble-ranges.pdf
I probably have a dozen or more different brands. When I change a panel out I pull them out of the old panel when I am done. Call me cheap
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 05:42 PM   #10
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,683
Default

Bringing Wires into the Side of a Panel and Number of Wires in a NM Cable Clamp?


Quote:
Originally Posted by rrolleston View Post
I probably have a dozen or more different brands. When I change a panel out I pull them out of the old panel when I am done. Call me cheap
yeah, you wasted more labor removing them then the cost of a new one...
stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 07:44 PM   #11
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,617
Default

Bringing Wires into the Side of a Panel and Number of Wires in a NM Cable Clamp?


I prefer the T&B 3201's. They are listed for two cables.

__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Number of wires through brick Warchild Electrical 3 01-29-2013 01:39 PM
Number of wires in LiquidTight conduit BrandonC_1972 Electrical 6 07-21-2012 09:56 AM
D 3 number 12 wires equal one number 8 wire? Uncle Wayne Electrical 3 01-26-2011 08:00 PM
how many wires through each Romex clamp? Tra Electrical 1 10-04-2010 12:23 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.