Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-27-2012, 06:34 PM   #16
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,811
Rewards Points: 2,420
Default

Bringing up to code?


There are many that fear if they do not fix the issues raised by the HI that the sale will fall through. To avoid loosing the sale some will even have unnecessary work done.

What frosts me is when I refute a report as a non-issue and the homeowners go with the advise of a non-licensed person over the fear factor.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (08-28-2012), Speedy Petey (08-27-2012), stickboy1375 (08-27-2012)
Old 08-27-2012, 06:59 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Fox Valley, WI
Posts: 202
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Bringing up to code?


are your inspectors licensed at all by you? Maybe the licensing process is more robust here...
ryan50hrl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 08:05 PM   #18
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,572
Rewards Points: 2,474
Default

Bringing up to code?


It helps to put your location in your profile....

With that said.....I was under the impression that unless changes are made....what ever is there....'meets code'....for when it was installed.

My house was built in 52...and has just 2 wires.....It's all in good shape....the 'only' thing that had to be changed when we bought the house in 2000, was the feed to the garage....it 'was' in the air....it had to be changed to underground conduit. Other than that, the 60A 120Vac panel stayed. Of course, that is not the situation now....

Side note regarding inspectors.....I've seen some good ones.....but it would appear that many of them are guys that couldn't make a living doing real construction work so they decided to call themselves HI's....sort of like the 'professional witness' in court rooms....
__________________
Even if you are on the right track, you will still get run over if you just sit there.

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ddawg16 For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (08-28-2012)
Old 08-27-2012, 08:14 PM   #19
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,876
Rewards Points: 2,106
Default

Bringing up to code?


Quote:
Originally Posted by ryan50hrl View Post
Maybe thats what the inspectors around you are doing.......its not what I've witnessed here for the past 7 years......
I've seen both good and bad locally, but BY FAR many of the reports I have seen personally, the feedback I have gotten, and the first hand experience I have heard of supports my opinion.
Maybe it's you who just have a really good bunch of them? Why is that you think it is only may area that is the exception?

And to let you know, H-I's in NYS must be state licensed. The same cannot be said for many other trades.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 10:30 AM   #20
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Bringing up to code?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
GFI protection marked "No Equipment Ground" or re-install two prong receptacles.
Just to confirm i picked up a gfci. Do i then find the first receptacle on the chain and replace that with the gfci and then just have to label the gfci and all the other 3 prong receptacle GFCI Protected Outlet, No Equipment Ground to be within code?

is there a limit on how many that can be labeled GFCI Protected Outlet, No Equipment Ground?

am i allowed to make my own labels if i dont have any that came with the gfci?
housemi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 10:48 AM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 228
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Bringing up to code?


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
Personally, HI are retards.....
+100%

I had an HI come through and inspect my house before we put it on the market. In my garage, I had an old rolling microwave cart that held various car cleaning supplies. It was sitting in front of one of my panels.

He actually wrote it up that the panel was blocked and this was a violation. Did he not realize that once I moved, the cart would be going with me. It even had wheels for easy movement.

He also listed a bunch of other stuff that I fixed. When the buyer''s HI came around I had the old report and list of fixes for him. His reply was "you didn't need to fix all that". Grrrrr.
herdfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 07:58 PM   #22
Member
 
kevinp22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Posts: 323
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Bringing up to code?


Quote:
Originally Posted by housemi View Post
Just to confirm i picked up a gfci. Do i then find the first receptacle on the chain and replace that with the gfci and then just have to label the gfci and all the other 3 prong receptacle GFCI Protected Outlet, No Equipment Ground to be within code?

is there a limit on how many that can be labeled GFCI Protected Outlet, No Equipment Ground?

am i allowed to make my own labels if i dont have any that came with the gfci?
yes - first rec of the chain. label it no equipment ground, label the remaining gfci protected, no equipment ground
no limit unless the instructions with gfci say there is a limit
your own labels are fine. those blue ones that come with the rec are butt ugly

kevinp22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Automatic Closet Lights Sav505 Electrical 52 12-28-2012 08:24 AM
Plumb island sink and AAV code for Ajax jhakkim Plumbing 2 02-14-2012 12:07 AM
Please Help - Error Code's 31, 32 and 42 on Carrier 58MVB 100 kolo HVAC 15 01-28-2012 11:13 PM
Lighting proximity to outdoor hot tub - Code Question jeffinpickering Electrical 0 09-12-2011 02:43 PM
Bryant Plus 90 Code 31 ~kirkland~ HVAC 1 03-08-2011 07:14 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.