Breakers Warping - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-02-2013, 07:04 PM   #16
Member
 
seansy59's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NJ, US
Posts: 292
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Breakers warping


Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption View Post
Your very mistaken.
You need a ridge vent on that roof, and some soffit vents.
You already have an open in the top of the roof for them.
This is what a ridge vent looks like.
http://www.bing.com/images/search?q=...electedIndex=1

All the heats that needs to be vented is trapped at the peak of the roof.
Window fans are usless.
With the proper venting it would add 5 years to the shingles.
Ridge vents do not use any form of caulking.
Ahhhh! But I do have a ridge vent! It was installed already. When a fog machine is used, all of the fog is blowing through the vent and out. Therefore why I have the 2 fans in the windows. To help bring the cooler air in and push the heat out.

Not sure if I'd be able to install soffit vents. The inside does not hang over the outside of the sheet metal where they would be installed. The outdoor soffits are for show only. They are 2x4s behind it...
Attached Images
 

Advertisement

seansy59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2013, 07:04 PM   #17
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,400
Rewards Points: 2,462
Default

Breakers warping


That Fire alarm does nothing. Who is it going to alert, the mice or ants nesting beneath the shed? That roof has the opening for the ridge vent already cut, but never installed. You need to read more up on how venting works, especially with sheds.

Denial is not a river in Egypt btw.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2013, 07:07 PM   #18
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,400
Rewards Points: 2,462
Default

Breakers warping


Quote:
Originally Posted by seansy59 View Post
Ahhhh! But I do have a ridge vent! It was installed already. When a fog machine is used, all of the fog is blowing through the vent and out. Therefore why I have the 2 fans in the windows. To help bring the cooler air in and push the heat out.

Not sure if I'd be able to install soffit vents. The inside does not hang over the outside of the sheet metal where they would be installed. The outdoor soffits are for show only. They are 2x4s behind it...
Too short of a roof line for that ridge vent. You need real vents along the ridge for proper venting. Fog machines do nothing, but spew out oil by product, and prove nothing either. As for the fans, they are doing nothing, but creating more heat, and placing a load on the panel because it is already within its max temp for operating, and placing the fans on them as a continuous load, is placing more load on the panel.

Not to bust your chops, but you really have a bad problem here, that you just ended up placing a band-aid on. It is like going to the ER for a gushing wound, and all they do is place a band-aid on it, and send you home, without really fixing the problem.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2013, 09:47 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 3,013
Rewards Points: 2,206
Default

Breakers warping


I have a lot of experience designing and building military field equipment that's often used in places where 120 degrees is a balmy day. I've personally experienced 150 degrees inside a mobile field kitchen. Never once have I ever seen what you're experiencing anywhere. What brand of panel is yours? All ours were Square D that use QOB (bolt-on) breakers instead of the snap-in kind.
md2lgyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2013, 10:05 PM   #20
Remodel and New Build GC
 
MTN REMODEL LLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Colorado @ 7651'
Posts: 2,974
Rewards Points: 2,218
Default

Breakers warping


Quote:
Originally Posted by MTN REMODEL LLC View Post
I never heard of having to "derate a panel".

Curiosity, does a panel have a temperature range spec??? I never looked... but I've never been around those temperatures.

Any Sparky's from Las Vegas or Arizona around??

Who;s panel is it?
Looks like sqD breakers... is it...Homeline? Any specs on it as to temp.

Politely, could you answer?

Best
__________________
Never stop learning (xcep fer speling en typeing)
MTN REMODEL LLC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 07:56 AM   #21
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,999
Rewards Points: 2,796
Default

Breakers warping


That is Square D Homeline.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 08:25 AM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 3,013
Rewards Points: 2,206
Default

Breakers warping


I have a Homeline 100A subpanel in my shed (Eastern WV). It's never warped. There's a real mystery here. Perhaps the OP should have a professional electrician at least come and look at his panel.
md2lgyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 02:36 PM   #23
Member
 
seansy59's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NJ, US
Posts: 292
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Breakers warping


Okay all. So I went to the store today and picked up a new Eaton BR 8 space panel and some new breakers. The bus bar is about 1/3 more the thickness than the Square D (both panels are rated @ 125a)

Why? Maybe better quality? Not sure.

On my Square D panel, the heat worn label says "Ambient Operating temperature max 140*F"

On the new Eaton, the label says "Ambient Operating temperature max 170*F"

???? I'm lost. Is it possibly this is why?

I cut power to the panel and took out a few of the breakers, and the bus bar is thinner in some parts than the others (almost as if it was molded wrong, no heat damage, more like manufacturing error, and I could bend the aluminum with my fingers). Now keep in mind, the temp today is only 80*F in the building!!!!

The Eaton panel would not budge when I tried bending the bar, not a bit...solid as a rock.

I sent Square D an email about it and am waiting for a reply. They will probably want pictures (as I'm sure you all do too!) but I have to wait till I can get my camera battery to charge up again...

Anyways, doing a panel swap tomorrow, and also got 2 new fans for the windows. They are high velocity box fans, not basic. The old ones moved 2500cfm, the new ones move a so called 3500cfm. I could notice the difference in air movement right away. It felt like a tornado sweeping around the room...

I believe....well....I think I got one helluva lemon panel. Think about all the panels in other locations. Garages, utility rooms, barns...even outdoor panels in direct sun down in the deep humid south. I'm pretty sure temps peak at 120*F-130*F sometimes with near 100% humidity . All of those panels do fine....

Advertisement

seansy59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring Generator to Backfeed Breakers - Neutral and Ground Wires? tjnoff Electrical 84 12-09-2014 09:59 PM
Arcing between circuit breakers and flickering lights mscotter Electrical 12 07-13-2012 01:46 AM
GE Panel - Breakers - Tandem or Slim? TBrown1 Electrical 12 06-05-2012 08:42 PM
breakers compatible with panel--HD says... Daneel Electrical 6 06-10-2011 07:31 PM
Can I get AFCI breakers for my panel? BlueBSH Electrical 21 08-04-2010 08:07 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts